Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac
(4.86/5.04.86/5.04.86/5.04.86/5.04.86/5.0 from 7 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

deluxe debut by the supergroup (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from germany, December 16th, 2011

fleetwood mac 68 is indeed a perfect debut album for fleetwood mac. it is a first-class blues album dominanted by the original guitarists peter green and jeremy spencer. jeremy opens with my heart beats like a hammer and it's great, although his best song on the album in his rendition of shake your moneymaker.
green shows his overwhelming talent in merry go round and i loved another woman. his best contributions are the world keep on turning and no place to go.
mick and john were as good then as they are now.
a perfect beginning for a perfect band. the blues is with fleetwood mac, even today - songs like miranda are very bluesy i think.

A must-- the best (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 25th, 2004

A blues lp that can never be matched. Some of Gary Moore's comes close, but this is as God intended-----no comparsion. I bought the vinyl lp in 1968.

I Got The Blues (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Kevin, August 25th, 2004

If you want to hear blues then grab this album. If you want to hear a totally different-sounding Fleetwood Mac, pick up this album. It's amazing what two people can contribute to a band because this sounds nothing like the Stevie-Lindsey period. It's a shame that this isn't as well known as the later period because it's great. You've got Jeremy Spencer with his slide guitar and jamming on my favorites "My Heart Beat Like A Hammer" and "Shake Your Moneymaker". I like the fact that he didn't use the same riff for each song. Peter Green's best on here are "Long Grey Mare" and "No Place To Go". All the songs on here are good except I could do without "The World Keep On Turning". If you want to hear blues or a different Fleetwood Mac, buy this album now.

At the time it blew me away. (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 25th, 2004

The Bluesbreakers, at the time, were a very innovative blues band. Mayall carried the torch from Alexis Korner, Peter Green`s Fleetwood Mac took the blues of Chicago and handed them to the Hippie community. The question was " Is the Blues relevant in these times of well being and peace?"
Answer " Who gives a damn " The Blues will always be with mankind `cos he makes `em! It was fresh, it was true and if you have`nt heard it then buy it. Modern Blues seems to have gone the way of all music. It`s over produced. This album retains rawness with incredible solo playing.It`s got boogie blues, quiet blues, laid bac k blues, black blues, white blues, Can blue men sing the whites blues. Yeah it`s got it all. Green`s guitar is so....... precise, yet evokes the deepest cavern of the soul. Spencer`s Slide guitar is really over the top, but makes you feel you`re in Chicago. The Bass and Drum section of McVie and Fleetwood, just drives it on home. I could cite individual tracks, but I ain`t gonna `cos I believe that the whole album should be listened to as a complete piece of music. You into the Blues? Well, you won`t hear anything bluesier than this pal!

The Blues Re-Defined (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Big Daddy Caddy (3macs@tampabay.rr.com) from Florida Swamps, August 25th, 2004

Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac were influenced by some of the greatist Blues artist of all time, Elmore James I believe to be their favorite. What I like to reflect upon about this album is, the fact that some artists can reinvent a song to make it their's. Jeremy Spencer and Peter Green do just that in this album and others. I must admit though, my favorite song on this album is If I Loved Another Woman by Peter Green. It has this melancholy kind of enchantment about it that makes you forget where you are for a minute. Most of us prefer the original artist with the original music however, any fan of the blues will be compelled to listen to this album always.

Perhaps the best blues album from Britain ever! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Jay Bowers (branch59@aol.com) from wisconsin, usa, August 25th, 2004

I have been listening and relistening to this album for years! Compare it to the much vaunted Rolling Stones and their ilk, not to mention losers like Pink Floyd, and you realize that a certain peak was reached here. The British "re-interpretation" and "cleaning up" of the blues was a real revelation and remains so to this day... these guys, led by Peter Green, reached a level achieved by no one else in their chosen genre- and this includes the Americans!

Traditionalist Triumvirate (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by John Fitzgerald from Peabody, MA USA, August 25th, 2004

The debut album shows the bands commitment to pure blues stylings to suburb effect. Although Green's songs are generally more adventurous than Spencer's, I think the real plus in this platters' favor is that Jeremy is able to sound fresh and refrains from his favorite Elmore James opening riff and tempo that some felt he had overused on future recordings. Undoubtedly, the best of which is "Shake your moneymaker" which is real hard driving stuff and it doesn't stop there as there's two great boogie stomps in "My heart beat like a hammer" & "My baby's good to me" as well as his piano talents on Robert Johnson's "Hellhound on my trail". The genius of Peter Green surprised many with purist arrangements on "Looking for somebody", "The world keep on turning", "Long grey mare" (which is the oldest recording as it features the Mac's original bass player Bob Brunning and has some hair raising harp by Peter)& a faithful cover of Howlin' Wolf's "No place to go" (a.k.a. "How many more years"). Peter does plug in for Chicago blues flavored "Merry go round" & the coolly atmospheric "I loved another woman". If you want the Mac at their most traditional, you can't do much better than this.

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.