Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for Time
(3.47/5.03.47/5.03.47/5.03.47/5.03.47/5.0 from 17 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

Christine Saved This From Utter Catastrophe (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, January 19th, 2014

Christine's work on this album was definitely some of her best, Nights In Estoril was possibly the best on this CD, that said I Do and Sooner or Later were also good, whereas All Over Again and Hollywood (Some Other Kind of Town) were adequate. Certainly head and shoulders above the rest. The only other two good songs from this album are Talkin' To My Heart and Blow by Blow, but it is rather tragic to think that Christine's contributions were included more as an afterthought when it seemed like the album would have been utter calamity without them. It did seem as if Christine was recording away from Bramlett, Burnette, Mason and Vito this time.

It certainly seems like Christine (despite the fact that all of her songs on this album highlighted her desire to leave at the time (possibly due to the rather dysfunctional lineup)) really did save the day for Fleetwood Mac and made this album more than just a liability. It is also tragic that due to the dismal sales figures, that many a person will never hear her work for this album, genuinely some of her best and most heartfelt work (despite an obvious apathy for the band when you look at some of the lyrics).

However it was so frayed and non-cohesive that it was clear that Fleetwood Mac had become this thing that was no longer a fully functioning band, and more of a few people who could throw together some songs in the hope of making money. But still, for Christine's contributions, it's still an album you can keep for a long car journey.

I can only deduce that it was called Time because Christine had elected that it was time to go. Thankfully, she is now coming back in 2014, so we'll see what she brings with her.

good album (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from germany, August 16th, 2010

i like this album and it is in fact a fleetwood mac album. i saw this line-up perform live and they were excellent. they never had a chance to make it after all the buckingham nicks years but they were a great band, believe me. and so is this album.

Is that Fleetwood Mac? (1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0)
Review written by Jean-Phi from Munich, Germany, October 16th, 2006

I just listened to this record and I found nothing except the music of "these strange Times". Christine sure did a great job but it wasn't enough to save this opus...

Incredibly underrated!!! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Donnie Swinton from South Carolina, February 9th, 2006

This is one of my most favorite albums of Fleetwood Mac. Hell, it might as well be my favorite. Every song is awesome!! They are all quite melodic and the album flows really well. Christine's contributions to this album, though it would be her final studio one, were excellent, especially my fave song of all the FM songs, "Nights In Estoril." The harmonies and the musical arrangements on every song are wonderful. Dave Mason's "I Wonder Why" and "Blow By Blow" were excellent contributions, and he and Billy Burnette made and excellent duo. Mick's drumwork is absolutely perfect and McVie's bass work is fantastic. Bekka Bramlett made a great addition to this never-ending band - which is not a bad thing -and I wish that we would've been able to experience another album from this lineup.

REVISIT (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Clive from Isle of Man, November 12th, 2005

Time to revisit this CD. Eclectic, maybe, but different musical styles, influences and directions suit today's CD format better than they did in 1995 (thanks to Carlos, who did most to allow his guest musicians room to contribute). 10 years ago, wow! Wonderful strong production and Bekka Bramlett is such an underated artist, the evidence is here.

t bone (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by (tommymf@hotmail.com) from bound brook nj., February 5th, 2005

I thought it was a strong cd.

New sound - warmer, nicer, and more melodious :-) (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by FINN from Hannover, GERMANY, August 15th, 2004

this is a fleetwood mac-sound i really like. lots of striking good hooks and impressive melodies, the warm and kind voices of christine and bekka (with male support). nevertheless it's an album with many distinctive sounds: every song got it's own special character. i don't miss stevie nicks' crowing voice at all on this album. hell, what if she would have sung "all over again"... :-O

in my opinion, "time" is the most underestimated but best album of the group. what a pity that fleetwood mac are very detached to it: you won't find a detail about it on their official website. WHY??

BEST SONGS --> "I DO"; "ALL OVER AGAIN"

A decent album, despite what you may have heard! (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from UK, August 15th, 2004

I came to the 1995 'Time' Album with a lot of negative preconceptions, and I'm glad to say that I was proven wrong. Despite the absence of several 'key members' (Lindsey and Stevie, and Rick Vito) this record is pleasant and easy to listen to. Dave Mason's contributions are a little eclectic, but Bramlett and Burnette manage a good effort. The real joys of 'Time' are the five songs of Christine McVie, who proves her long-held belief that keeping it simple works well: 'All Over Again' is a beautiful lullaby, and 'Nights in Estoril' has a magical, lyrical tone. That her songs seem to be saying goodbye to the band adds greater emotional depth to this overlooked album. Mick Fleetwood's spoken word track is the only risible element. On the whole, though, 'Time' is definitely worth a listen.

For better or worse (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Cristian from Chile, August 15th, 2004

So the tradition is that Fleetwood Mac loses band members, then replaces them and goes on. This time the "lost" members were Stevie Nicks and Rick Vito, who had been working together in the much stronger album Behind The Mask, and they were sort of 'replaced' by singer Bekka Bramlett and guitarist/vocalist Dave Mason, formerly of Traffic.

The results are better than expected, but still don't come to the levels of excellence that previous albums have reached. Mostly because of the quality of the songs. Burnette contributes probably the best track ("Talkin' To My Heart") and a filler ("I Got It In For You"), both adorned with precious Bramlett's backing vocals. Then you have sort of a mix of three or four solo albums (i.e. with not that much "band interaction") with a couple of good tunes, and with Christine McVie dominating the record with 5 songs. "Sooner Or Later" is a magical, bluesy track; "All Over Again" is a fantastic way to 'say goodbye' to the band (she left after the release of this album); "I Do" had the potential to be a big hit -it wasn't-; and "Hollywood (Some Other Kind Of Town)" and "Nights In Estoril" are a couple of her most auto-biographic and interesting songs. You don't hear much of the rest of the band in these tracks, mostly because their contributions were recorded previously... Dave Mason contributes the rocky "Blow By Blow" and "I Wonder Why", not especially notable. Bekka sings "Winds Of Change" and "Nothing Without You", but her best performance is with no doubts her precious collaboration with Billy Burnette, "Dreamin' The Dream". And then there's the atrocity of Mick doing 'vocals' in a weird and unneeded 'tribute' to Peter Green called "These Strange Times".

This album is not as bad as you may have heard. It has a couple of excellent songs, some good harmonies, nice drum/bass/guitar melodies and harmonies. Perhaps it needed more attention... and much more promotion mistakes were made. This Fleetwood Mac incarnation had probably much more to say, but their words were cut when it was disbanded, to make room for the Rumours lineup to reunite in 1997... for better or worse.

wonderful album (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by taku, August 15th, 2004

I think this album is wonderful album and
All Over again is a beautiful song.

moutaz a.mattar (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 15th, 2004

fleetwood mac's time album is on of the best from the band and it's for rock'n roll, i liked bekka and billy and the old man david mason and my best song in ths album is ( nothing without you ) and ( wind of change ) . again fleetwood mac is my best band.

A Big Miss From the Big Mac (1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0)
Review written by MDOG from USA, August 15th, 2004

OK, Fleetwood Mac proved with Behind The Mask that they could do an album without Lindsey , but without Stevie and Christine? Their "replacements" efforts- Dave Mason and Bekka Bramlett fall flat. Burnette's Talkin' To My Heart is the only real good song here. 4 of Christine's tracks are also here. They are less poppy and more of the classic Fleetwood Mac sound. They show her desire to leave this band however with songs like Hollywood and Sooner Or Later. But I Do and Nights in Estoril show her at her best. Luckilly for us, the rumours line up got together two years later. If not, we can only wonder where this band would have gone next.

without Nicks and Buckingham it isn't the same Mac (1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 15th, 2004

Too bad. They should have just stopped with "Behind The Mask." This was a forced effort probably due to Mick. Christine contributes her worst songs on this album and she seems to be rather distant, not displaying her usual energy. Mick and John always provide a great rhythm section though, so it might be worth a listen for them. The two new entrys replacing Stevie and Lindsey just don't have the chemistry of their predecessors--a damaging flaw. This is only reserved for die hard Mac fans.

A SHAME NO ONE HAD -TIME- FOR THIS ALBUM. (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by NICK from FAREHAM HAMPSHIRE ENGLAND, August 15th, 2004

OK SO EVERYONE MISSED LINDSEY & STEVIE BUT THIS TURNED OUT BE A GOOD ALBUM IT HAD AN EAGLES FEEL TO IT AND CHRISTINE GAVE US SOME OF HER BEST SONGS EVER JUST LISTEN TO HOLLYWOOD & SOONER OR LATER OR BEKKA ON WINDS OF CHANGE... PURE MAC MAGIC.

the new brought new and needed life .welcome to1900's (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from la,ca, August 15th, 2004

fleetwoodmac wonderful then and now ...
change is always good, and in this case what a beautiful feeling of loving life and music it brought.

The Mac nods to its pre-Buckingham/Nicks days (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Neil Forker from Indiana, USA, August 15th, 2004

Time is a very confusing album. Cohesive it isn't. The most frustrating thing that I find about this album is the lack of a real 'band'. Not all the tracks are performed by the same people. None of Christine's tracks feature Billy or Dave playing guitar. Likewise, only the tracks that were written by Christine feature Christine.

Dispite this, there are some notible tracks. "Talkin' To My Heart" was an excellent choice for an opener and nods back to the Mac of "Penguin". "Blow By Blow" and "I Wonder Why" are grean Dave Mason tracks and fit within the context of Fleetwood Mac fairly well. Christine's "Sooner or Later" reminds me of "Brown Eyes" only more glossy. However, her "Nights In Estoril" reminds me of "Save Me" only LESS glossy. "Winds of Change" is a nod to "Dreams", but lacks the intensity.

I would have liked to see this Fleetwood Mac lineup do more. I know that they toured without Christine before the album was released. I often wonder if that is what affected this album. It seems to me that Christine's tracks were thrown in to 'save the album from doom' instead of working them over with the group so it could be a 'group' record. Nonetheless, I do think that it is a good album, but I don't recommend that anyone start their collection here.

Mick soldiers on but bad chemistry prevails. (1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0)
Review written by haydenj01@aol.com (haydenj01@aol.com) from Cleveland, Ohio, August 15th, 2004

To his credit, Mick's attempt's to keep the FM banner flying were laudable, but at this juncture it seems the "band collective" just plain ran out of ideas. Where were the tunes? Billy Burnette's "Talkin' To My Heart" is a credible and catchy opening salvo. From there it's downhill. Somehow the stellar production work and innate musicianship of the band can't seem to provide the proper foundation for the rest of the material. Weak melodies from most of the contribuitors don't help. A thoroughly baffeling effort, but one which at least was able to keep Mick, John and Christine still together in some semblance of a team. My least favorite album in an otherwise stellar career. Hey, every band is entitled to one turkey! For "completists" only.

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.