- Advanced Search | Latest Updates | 30 Most Viewed

Two Greens Make A Blues (1991) - The Enemy Within

    Featuring »

Ed Deane, Lawrence/Laurence Garman, Gypie Mayo, Gary Peters, The Raven (Lawrie Gaines)

    Tracklisting »
All Quiet
  Date Performance: 1986, Running Time: 4:40
Chinese White Boy
  Date Performance: 1986, Running Time: 3:46
  Comments: (Ed Deane) says he overdubbed his part later.
Rock And Roll Feeling
  Date Performance: 1986, Running Time: 3:49
  Date Performance: 1986, Running Time: 4:52
Four Minute Melody
  Date Performance: 1986, Running Time: 2:45
Post Modern Blues
  Date Performance: 1986, Running Time: 3:21
Eprom Song
  Date Performance: 1986, Running Time: 3:11
Intensity Of Vision
  Date Performance: 1986, Running Time: 3:06
Camel's Eye Blues
  Date Performance: 1986, Running Time: 3:34
Way You Dance
  Date Performance: 1986, Running Time: 2:36
End Zone
  Date Performance: 1986, Running Time: 5:46
Nietzsche's Ass
  Date Performance: 1986, Running Time: 2:56
Who Do You Love
  Date Performance: 1986, Running Time: 3:31
Stab The Knife
  Date Performance: 1986, Running Time: 3:04
  Date Performance: 1986, Running Time: 3:46
    Guest Appearances »

Peter Green, Mick Green

    Released »


    Format »

Import Vinyl/CD Album

    Other Appearances »
The Raven (Lawrie Gaines) (Songwriter), The Raven (Lawrie Gaines) (Songwriter), The Raven (Lawrie Gaines) (Programming), The Raven (Lawrie Gaines) (Programming), The Raven (Lawrie Gaines) (Produced By), The Raven (Lawrie Gaines) (Produced By)

    Record Label »
Red Lightnin/M.I.L. Multimedia/Castle/Cannon

    Catalogue Number »

CD 87 (Red Lightnin) 6103 (M.I.L.) CLACD 426 (Castle) MWT 4341.1035-2 (Cannon)

    Running Time »


    Reviews »
Add your review here.

Bad guys don't deliver the goods
Review written by John Fitzgerald, June 23rd, 2005

Most of these recordings apparently started out on an album by a band called The Enemy Within released in 1986 and the album was called "A touch of sunburn". Then a few years later, the album was repackaged a few times over with bonus tracks, this is one of the rehashes wherein the releasing label was blowing up the fact that Peter Green (among others) had played on it (albeit in an obviously very minor way). I've heard rumblings that "Chinese white boy" may be the only track to include Green's work but even then, I don't know how reliable the information is that he is even on that track as I wouldn't have known he was on that track by listening to it. I only "know" from what tales I've heard. Green is listed as playing guitar and bass on this CD but states nothing further regarding his appearance so anyone's guess is as good as mine as to where he may be on this platter as I don't even know if the "Chinese white boy" legends were made before the releasing of the bonus tracks (which of course confuses the issue even further in that questions then arise to the effect of "Is he on any of those?"). Pressing on to the Enemy Within's music itself, these guys were obviously trying to do something they felt would be groundbreaking in some musical sense but I think few have been influenced by the recordings enclosed on this disc. The aforementioned "Chinese white boy" is a back and forth bouncer with twangy guitars (possibly trying to give it an oriental feel) and fuzzy vocals. "All quiet" is a funkish opener, "Rock and roll feeling" is a straight ahead rocker, "Doctor" is a rasping chirper, "Four minute melody" is a bouncy tumbler, "Post modern blues" is a plinking doodle, "Eprom song" starts promising but fades fast. "Intensity of vision" tries to sound futuristic and sophisticated but fails, "Camel's eye blues" includes thin searings, "Way you dance" is a new wave blues boogie that's not very useful, "End zone" has a suspenseful theme but instead of building off of hat, it goes nowhere. "Nietzsch's ass" is an unfunny rolling twanger, "Who do you love" is a cold mechanical cover, "Stab the knife" is a galloper that I think could've worked had it been done in a straightforward way and the yowler "Rosy" is a bland closer. Purely for Green completests and no other reason.

    Comments »

This album was originally released in 1986 as "A Touch Of Sunburn". In 1991 it was reissued with bonus tracks on CD as "Two Greens Make A Blues". This expanded edition was later re-released under the title "Greens' Blues" in 1998, and then again with 2 bonus tracks in 2003 as "Post Modern Blues".

Peter Green has neither lyrics or vocals on the album and is only one of six guitarists credited. He is listed for bass as well. Unfortunately, the album's liner notes do not indicate which songs he's on (though The Raven did reportedly say in a Record Collector interview that Peter did play on "Chinese White Boy" though he couldn't remember which other tracks he was on, possibly "Post Modern Blues" and/or "Eprom Song").

Ed Deane can also only say for sure that Peter only played on 'Chinese White Boy'. On that track (Peter) played bass and acoustic slide and (Ed) played guitar synth overdubbing his part later.

    Last Modified »
    Tracklisting »
Discography entry submitted by Mark Trauernicht, Jeff Kenney & Marty Adelson.