Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for English Rose
(5.00/5.05.00/5.05.00/5.05.00/5.05.00/5.0 from 6 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

Great BGO CD reissue (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from la, ca, October 11th, 2007

Just got the new BGO import CD reissue. Great to have it on CD! Who can forget that "horrid" cover! Got me to quit smoking and drinking!

One Of The Best Blues Records ever made hands down (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Frank Whitenack (andreyasda@yahoo.com), August 26th, 2004

This is one of those recordings that I remember from my youth and it was great then and its great now. It has held up over the years it's that kind of music. This is the Fleetwood Mac that I first heard and love. I know they have made millions with the (Buckingham, Nicks) sound but this is the music I think that was the best. I fist heard Black Magic Women by theses guys I truly love this album. You will not regret getting this disc and unlike my first copy it will not wear out on you.

The Blues Defined (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Big Daddy Caddy, August 26th, 2004

I love this album and listen to it often. Every song rocks, especially Black Magic Woman. It almost always puts you in the mood for a few beers and some BBQ by the pool.

An essential for any Blues Collection (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Rich Gulden (pbman1953@aol.com), August 26th, 2004

The invasion of British Blues towards the end of the sixties came With Fleetwood Mac and other well renound groups. Fleetwood Mac instilled the original feelings of the founding American Blues fathers. Such names include all 3 Kings, Elmore James,& Robert Johnson. I felt that their interpretation was envied by many other blues groups. In turn, this elevated Peter, Danny & Jeremy to the forfront of blues music. Even though John Mayall set the stage for future super "blues" groups, Fleetwood Mac carried out the mission. My origianl English rose is worn out, caput! Thanks to cd's the music lives on. Stop messin around, Jigsaw Blues, Someting inside of me, Love that Burns need I say more . The music speaks for itself. As I mentioned before it's an Esential Blues cd for any collection.

The finest general collection of Fleetwood Mac blues! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Joe Panackia from Macomb, Michigan, August 26th, 2004

If you were to own only one set by the early or original group, this should be the one. This compilation includes their hit singles, "Albatross" and "Black Magic Woman", both composed by group founder, Peter Green. He also contributes the heart felt, slow blues of "Love That Burns" as well as the definitive hot blues guitar and vocal on "Stop Messin' 'Round.

The gifted Jeremy Spencer is heard performing two of his impressive interpretations of Elmore James' "Dust My Broom" on, "Doctor Brown" and "Coming Home". The energetic instrumental "Evenin Boogie" is also in the James style. Bassist John McVie states about Spencer, "He was the best slide-guitar player around at the time, and nobody has touched (equaled) him ever since". These tracks corroborate that statement.

Further examples of this type of material by Green and Spencer, are found on "Mr. Wonderful", the group's second official album, released only in the UK, and from which, some of these tracks are taken.

Another bonus feature of "English Rose" (the group's second U.S. release), is that, it was also the debut of third lead guitarist Danny Kirwan, who imparts his own expression of the blues. "Jigsaw Puzzle Blues" takes the listener on a very interesting ride, while "Something Inside Of Me" seems to be Danny's play on an Elmore James tune. "One Sunny Day" and "Without You" are Danny at his finest. The former highlights a driving rhythm and sharp notes. The later, a haunting slow blues, with a unique sound.

The piano on the Peter Green numbers, is played exquisitely by Christine Perfect, soon to marry bassist John McVie, and later, to become an official member of the band.

Mick shuffles, John deals- "English Rose" finds all performers in top form.

Epitome of American based blues influence on UK music (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Philip Jacquez (philjac2000@excite.com) from Washington, USA, August 26th, 2004

Legitimate British Blues infuenced by authentic roots blues in America. Especially Elmore James whose music is treated with all of the dignity, respect, and integrity kept intact. While the Rolling Stones also were performing with this formula,copying the style and music of Chuck Berry, the original line-up of Fleetwood Mac ultimately stayed closer to the roots of this music than even the the Yardbirds who definitely were the second best group to also employ this strategy copying the likes of Billy Boy Arnold whose music would have been completely lost to current audiences if not for the Yardbirds.Eventually Jimmy Page would go on to form Led Zeppelin who used Willie Dixon and his music to catapult them to stardom.Unfortunately Fleetwood Mac would be the only band to acknowledge their obvious influence by performing with real authenticity and competence.

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.