Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for Heroes Are Hard To Find
(4.22/5.04.22/5.04.22/5.04.22/5.04.22/5.0 from 9 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

great as a foursome (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from germany, March 11th, 2013

why any replacements for kirwan have ever been looked for is indeed a real mystery to me as fleetwood mac were seldom that good as they were as a foursome in the midst of a big big bogus mess. this was the background to heroes, they were not allowed to tour nor to use their band name.
christine mcvie's voice is particularly special on this record. it sounds a bit thin, the vocals can't even be understood on come a littel bit closer. but her voice is breathtaking as always. bad loser is an outstanding song in her catalogue. prove your love is brilliant, the title track should have been a big hit.
bob welch on the other hand has some difficulties with the lead guitar. but he sounds GREAT!! i love him. coming home is special, angel is great, bermuda triangle thrilling, silver heels funky. christine adds some bluesy grand piano to the souly born enchanter.
heroes are hard to find is an outstanding fleetwood mac album and i love it. it is at least as good as mystery to me. give it a try!

Love it... (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from South Carolina, January 27th, 2006

HAHTF is great. I love the fact that it was not an album of just one style of music. That's how my own band is. I love Come A Little Bit Closer, one of the most beautiful songs I've ever heard. And Bob Welch's Beach Boys-like "She's Changing Me" is fantastic. The Safe Harbour instrumental was a nice way to end the last album of the Bob Welch era. I wonder what FM would've been like if he stayed during the White Album era...

One of the best Mac albums (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Mike (mike@novim.us) from Buffalo, NY, August 18th, 2004

From my first listen of Fleetwood Mac's 1974 LP "Heroes Are Hard To Find" i was intrigued by it. The Bob Welch-era Fleetwood Mac has always been my favorite, and highly overrated. That one guy's homepage review of "Heroes Are Hard To Find" is way off. Bob Welch's efforts are the strongest on this LP than any of his other Mac albums. "Silver Heels" is one of the best songs he ever wrote, "Angel" is a great rocker, "Bermuda Triangle" is the typical Bob Welch mysticism, "She's Changing Me" is another Welch influenced by a female track and he toots his own horn with "Born Enchanter". Christine's tracks set the stage for what was to come from her in Fleetwood Mac. "Heroes Are Hard To Find" is a great opening track, with good lyrics, although the horn section could've been mixed a little bit stronger, "Come A Little Bit Closer" should've been a hit single, "Bad Loser" and "Prove Your Lover" are great tracks as well. "Heroes Are Hard To Find" is an album that i hope people who buy the 1975 "Fleetwood Mac" album will go out and get to listen to the effort before the big time hit the band. I've always wondered what Mac would've been like if Welch stayed for a little longer.

Robert Welch's Swan Song (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Lambros Zelios from Sydney, Australia, August 18th, 2004

"Heroes are hard to find" is the first album recorded in the US by the band. Both Welch and Mcvie have grown as songwriters and are contributing some of their finest work on this album, the production tends to be weak in comparison to its predecessors - "Penguin" and "Mystery to me".

The title track is also a single, opens the album and the band decides to use horns to spice up the sound on the song. But production is very weak on this track and I feel the track suffers because of it.

Welch's songs on this album tend to a bit more rockier and more haunting than ever before. The haunting rocker "Angel" is one of the strongest tracks on the album. Bermuda triangle continues the mystical, enigmatic Welch tradition while She's changing me is country-tinged which is something Welch has not done before with the Mac.

Mcvie also contributes a country flavoured tune "Coming a little bit closer". This track is one of my all time favourite Christine Mcvie songs. It has a great melody, and I love the guitar in this song. This would have to be the strongest song on the album. Another great Mcvie moment is the catchy melodic "Prove your love".

This is the last album recorded with Robert Welch and the first recorded in the US. Like "Mystery to me", "Heroes are hard to find" is a more cohesive offerring than Penguin and this may because Mcvie and Welch had taken on leadership roles in the songwriting and that they have grown as a band.

Heroes are hard to find would give the Mac their highest chart placing in the US up to date (a respectable No 34 in the US, their first top 40 US billboard album).

Heroes Are Hard To Find! (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Kevin from Ohio, August 18th, 2004

Bob has "Mystery To Me" but Christine owns "Heroes...". All four of her efforts are very strong especially the title track and "Bad Loser". You can't go wrong with the Bob's rockier "Angel" and his somewhat bluesy "Born Enchanter". "Bermuda Triangle" is also a nice song by Bob, with a nice groovin' part. His styles seem to change quite a lot on this album. From somewhat heavier rock (Angel & Coming Home) to country (She's Changing Me), to mystical (Bermuda Triangle) to just bluesy (Born Enchanter) and to just rock (Silver Heels) and to the very boring "Safe Harbour". I'd get this album for anyone who's a fan of the Welch era because you get a lot of his compositions on here.

Outstanding (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 18th, 2004

Heroes Are Hard To Find is Fleetwood Mac's first California album. This album is gives the band a foggy mystique with such beauties as Prove Your Love, Angel, and Safe Harbour. Any personal, hidden feelings from Bob and Christine were finally thrown to the public for a triumpant comback!

Great, catchy Bob Welch songs (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 18th, 2004

The title track is good. But "She's Changing Me" and "Silver Heels" are among Bob Welch's finest moments. What a great, melodic songwriter he was. He had some great songs that deserved wider acclaim.

Overlooked (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by blinker12, August 18th, 2004

Of the three Mac albums that came after Danny Kirwan's departure in 1972 and the arrival of Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks in 1975, this one has the most integrity and cohesion. Christine's three songs (the title track, "Come a Little Bit Closer" and "Prove Your Love") are some of the finest of her career. They prove that she had evolved into a premiere songwriter even before she joined forces with Buckingham and Nicks the following year. And although none of Bob Welch's offerings live up to Christine's standard ("She's Changing Me," "Bad Loser" and "Silver Heels" come closest), the album as a whole creates a sustained, ethereal mood that only intensifies on repeated listens.

A slightly more experimental album (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Ian Macintyre from Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada, August 18th, 2004

With this release, the Mac takes some chances. They bring in a horn section for the rather funky title cut as well as lush strings for some of the slower tunes. Christine and Bob are both in fine form here. The only problem I had with this cd is that it wasn't as accessible as Mystery To Me or Bare Trees. It took a few listens before I could get into the songs. As the saying goes however,"patience is a virtue."

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.