Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for Buckingham Nicks
(4.96/5.04.96/5.04.96/5.04.96/5.04.96/5.0 from 51 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

I was there (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by TtownDick, January 13th, 2014

1974 I was a student at the University of Alabama and also a jock on the campus radio station.
So I went to all the concerts.
Buckingham Nicks were really popular in the Birmingham/Tuscaloosa market
They appeared at Morgan Auditorium, a great venue with just over 600 seats.
According to sources, this was the first time they performed Rhiannon.
Obviously, great concert & Stevie was waaaay hot!
So I still have the vinyl as well as a bootleg cd taken directly from the vinyl.
I've always heard there was/is a lawsuit regarding the B N music, which is why an real cd has never been produced & the music has never been covered.
I just can't believe that's still the case after so many years.
A Fleetwood Mac cover of the album would be instant platinum.

Beautiful (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Roger Weeden from Virginia Beach, VA USA, May 11th, 2010

In the early 1980's I was at a hodge-podge of a recod store. Yes, lp's in racks and in piles on the floor. I have always loved FM and SN since 1976, upon hearing Rhiannon.
In this cluttered mayhem I ran across the B/N lp! I was thrilled! It was in excellent condition, inside and out. It is the gatefold copy-the back is a blue-green tinted mirror image of the front cover. There was a small cut in the cover, meaning that the lp was rejected. (a dye cut?)
That was in 1983! I still have the original lp and 2 or 3 CD's of the same. One contains the radio/air play version of Crying in the Night. There are a few live B/N songs from a show. The other CD contains the entire B/N lp plus a few demos (a few songs tht Stevie finally released on TISL) Sorcerer, Planets, Candlebright.
Anyhow, these CD's are out there. I found them on ebay. I also found a few photos from the photo shoot for the B/N cover. One is hand tinted with greens and grey-blues. The sound on these CD's is excellent, clear and no "scratchies". I advise anyone who is a Stevie/ FM fan to search for it... IT is a must have for any FM/ SN fan. I feel like I have some precsious gem!
At a SYW show in SC, near the end of Stevie's story about B/N, waitressing, being poor, etc., Lindsey started playing the opening chords to Frozen Love, from B/N. Only an FM fanatic would recognize those chords.. and I DID and went wild. FM newbies were oblivious to the intro and i ws screaming "Frozen Love" and starting to sing... but Stevie shook her finger at Lindsey and said that she forgot the words... I was ready to jump on stage and go over the words with her!!
Try and find this historic recording.. you won't regret it. (just stay clear of the 10th+ generation copies that have been originally recorded on cassettes.. Stevie sounds like a munchkin and the crisp guitar chords are dull and warbled).

The seeds of musical promise are definitely in bloom... (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Jon the Moonspinner from redlands, ca, February 17th, 2010

Credited to Lindsey Buckingham and Stevi Nicks, this somewhat folky, somewhat stodgy, guitar-driven effort from the pre-Fleetwood Mac lovers has acquired a magical mystique in the last 20 years which far exceeds the end results. I purchased this around 1982, when it was released without the gatefold cover, and--despite being HUGE fans of both Buckingham and Nicks--I never quite got into it. Now when I play "Buckingham Nicks", I'm attuned more to the history of the record, the burgeoning brilliance of Nicks' lyrical stylings, and the budding genius of Lindsey's guitar-work. "Don't Let Me Down Again", "Races Are Run", "Crying in the Night", the instrumental "Stephanie", and "Long Distance Winner" are the highlights. "Frozen Love", co-written by the duo, is the song which first attracted Mick Fleetwood to the musicians, although it is the least effective track on the record. The production is soupy, the vocals are not strong. In fact, the feeling one gets here is of musical restlessness. The songs desperately need to soar and celebrate life, but our heroes are instead bummed out. Listening to this today is a curious experience, but not a sentimental one. These two sound like they're fed up with being poor, sick of kicking around L.A. and ready for a change. "Buckingham Nicks" is rather bitter, proving that Mick Fleetwood not only saved Lindsey and Stevie from poverty--he saved them from themselves.

a must (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from spain, November 8th, 2008

original.underrated guitarplaying.this record is a must for acoustic guitarplayers.few people realise how much they brought to fleetwood mac.excellent vocal harmonies.

One of the best ever albums (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Swampscott, MA USA, November 26th, 2006

Received this album as a birthday gift in 1980, it was damaged in a flood in my basement in 1988. I was luckily enough to find another copy on eBay in perfect condition this past year. One of the best Albums ever, and when you hear it, you realize the strength that Buckingham Nicks brought to Fleetwood Mac.

If you have not heard it, you need to find someone with a copy.

My favorite Album (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Altoona, PA, April 25th, 2006

I purchased this album in the 70's and now have a "boot-leg" copy of the CD.
I will have the album & CD forever! I have shared this with others who love it also.

It Still Rings Sweet in My Ears (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Berkeley, CA, April 20th, 2006

I never fill in these ratings -- but I just heard a cut ("Frozen Love") at a friend's house a couple of nights ago after forgetting about it for twenty years (since someone stole my copy of the album) and it brought back memories of listening to the LP, front and back, over and over and over again between lectures and labs and exams, and all the other bittersweet echoes of college, so when I came across this site I had to post my agreement that this is a fabulous album...

Everyone should hear! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Zac from Chicago, IL, March 7th, 2006

I am 34 years old and did not discover this album when it was released, but I did discover a copy of it on my fatherís reel-to-reel years later. What a find! I really liked all kinds of music at the time, and this definitely fell into the ďlikeĒ category. Eventually I did find a bootleg CD copy and I have not played this for anyone that hasnít liked it. My question is, if we all know how great this album is, why canít someone in the music industry figure that out and release a nice studio CD. Peace.

Early listener (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Ed Cistolo from Freedom, PA USA, January 31st, 2006

I bought my only copy of this album in the fall of '73, and consider it to be in the top 10 on my all time list. I had to order the album through a small town record store, as the owner had no clue who these people were. I have felt for 25 yrs. or more that the sound that Stevie and Lindsey brought to Fleetwood Mac, is what made them the super group they became in the 70's - 80's. It is a truly great album. In my opinion Fleetwood Mac was nothing without this addition.

Good ol' Days (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by (darlin741@comcast.net) from Pittsburgh, Pa, September 28th, 2005

The Summer of 1976 would have never been the same for me if it wasn't for long summer nights and the Buckingham/Nicks album. I have it in my possession and will never ever part with it.."Frozen Love" to this day will always make me cry-not tears of saddness but of the joy in knowing what an excellent piece of music it will always be,,,it is so sad that it has been passed up for years...Let's get on these music sellers to bring back the good ol days..for the ones that are young at heart, Go Stevie! and Buckingham!

5 stars isn't enough! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Jim Collins from Kansas, USA, September 24th, 2005

I discovered this album some 30 years ago and have been through numerous copies of it ever since. I upraded my vinyl copy in the late 70's/early 80's and have been preserving it by only playing it when I copied it to cassette. So, why all the fuss? Simply put, this is one of the finest records I have ever heard. Being a primarily hard rock and progressive fan, I normally shunned music that wasn't loud and aggressive. One night I heard this at a party and was completely mesmerized by it. Once I saw the cover, I was smitten by Ms. Nicks and bought the album shortly after. In the years since, it has become one of my top 5 albums of all time. Nothing they did with the Mac or as solo artists comes close to this music. They managed to capture the raw essence of youth, passion, innocence and truth in their performances here. Timeless is a word that is way overused, but it's the only word that fits. While they continued to write stellar material later, the break-ups, the drugs and the money robbed even the best of those songs of their core. This music is pure, like the first snow on a winter day. Completely untouched by the ravages of fame and fortune, with no egos or record company pressures, it flows from their hearts to the ears of the listener. Simply a rare gem, lost to the world for far too long.

Classic Legacy (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by arthur johnson from Laughlin Nevada, July 25th, 2005

Fleetwood Mac Hall of Famers; Mick Feetwood, John and Christine McVie and of course L. Buckingham and S. Nicks. To own this CD and have it in my Collection Would Complete, For Me, years of hard work and money spent finding origin of this band. Music Genuses of the 21st. century. Where do i find this?

My all time favorite is Buckingham Nicks (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by DeLisa (bcrawfo6@bellsouth.net) from Macon, Georgia area, February 2nd, 2005

My favorite song by Lindsey Buckingham is "Go Your Own Way" I think the charm and the love between lindsey & Stevie on stage was undeniable. I am 32 years old and I have ALWAYS thought Lindsey Buckingham was and still is A VERY SEXY MAN!!!! I think they are both EXCELLENT......... It is so obvious how into the music he is. That is rare now... Lindsey will sorely be missed when he is gone just as Stevie Nicks will. They are original. They have a distinctive sound. I love it!

Do you always trust your first initial feeling? (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Felix from The Netherlands, January 17th, 2005

I only have the album 3 times + on casette (it's not rare in my collection ;)

Not to many words here: I'd prefer to listen to it.

Where can I find it! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Houston, Texas, January 16th, 2005

I owned this album when it first came out. Over the years its been misplaced and I'm searching for another album, cd, mp3 or anything. The songs are timeless and would be appreciated as much today as they were then. I can't believe no record company has attempted an anniversary re-issue, as it would probably go platinum given the success of both artists and the numbers of fans available today. When it came out, no-one heard of them until they joined Fleetwood Mac. The song 'Landslide' is 10 times better than the re-make recently done by the Dixie Chicks.

A CLASSIC IN IT'S TRUEST FORM (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by DAVID (sgtpepper1014@aol.com) from HOUSTON, TEXAS, August 27th, 2004

HOW CAN A RECORD COMPANY KEEP SUCH A GEM IN HIDING. THE BUCKINGHAM-NICKS ALBUM TRULY SHOWS THE RAW TALENT OF AN EMERGING MUSICAL FORCE. IT'S ONE OF THOSE PIECES OF MUSIC THAT YOU LISTEN TO START TO FINISH OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND STILL WANT MORE. MELODIC, CATCHY AND INTERESTING, IT STILL REPRESENTS THE BODY OF WORK THAT PRODUCED THE FLEETWOOD MAC WE ALL CAME TO LOVE. THIS LP IS A MUST HAVE IF YOU ARE A TRUE ROCK MUSIC FAN. IF LENNON AND McCARTNEY HAD WRITTEN A PRE-BEATLE ALBUM, BUCKINGHAM-NICKS WOULD MIRROR THE SAME INFLUENCE ON THE FUTURE ROCK SCENE THAT EMERGED. JUST FIND IT AND LISTEN!!!!! CASE CLOSED.......

Absence of a CD a Mystery (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Stolfa from Clearwater, FL, August 15th, 2004

Making his mark in the music industry with a super group like Fleetwood Mac, unfortunately has kept Lindsey Buckingham's talent in the background. But this album features his guitar work and is one of the top ten in my collection. A truly underrated musician. Stevie Nicks raw vocals are an excellent compliment to Buckingham's uninhibited performance and would be sorely missed in the future, when he went solo after Mac. The instrumental made public radio when this album was released and I was amazed that the remaining tracks, being even better, never got any air time. Maybe the music is just too complicated for the general public.

Amazing (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Kellen Faroukh Nicks (lroasis@optonline.net) from Long Island, New York, August 15th, 2004

Stevie and Lindsey's lyrics are wonderful. The music is absolutly spectacular. It is all put together so well. I, myself listen to this album any time that I can. And each time that I listen to it , it is like I heard it for the first time. It never gets old. As a musician I found this album very inspiring. I must say, though, I am floored that this album never really took off.

Why is this album so obscure??? (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by rutles_rule@yahoo.com from England, August 15th, 2004

I stumbled upon this album when Lindsey released Out of the Cradle and captured my fascination. Every song is amazing, with some of the best guitar work I have ever heard. This is a must for every Buckingham Nicks fan and I still dream of the day the remastered CD is released!This album proves that Lindsey and Stevie have always existed outside of Fleetwood Mac and remains a masterpiece of modern music.

A masterpiece - this album is one of the best ever (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Florida, August 15th, 2004

I purchased the album back in the 70's and still consider it a masterpiece that has been overlooked and underrated. Every single cut is wonderful with memorable music and lyrics. I can't understand why it isn't out on CD. If you can get your hands on a copy, you'll understand why Fleetwood Mac became one of the greatest groups ever once Buckingham and Nicks joined the band.

One of the greatest albums ever! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Matty (juella90@eircom.net) from Ireland, August 15th, 2004

This record rocks! A timeless, classic album. "Long Distance Winner" sounds incredable, as does "Frozen Love". "Stephanie" and "Lola (My Love)" are great tracks also, I love Lindsey's guitar playing on this album. His solo in "Frozen Love" is one of the finest I've ever heard! Stevie's song "Races Are Run" is beautiful. GET THIS ALBUM!

Absolutely sensational !!! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by bjsmith3@gvtc.com from San Antonio, Texas, August 15th, 2004

I found this album in late 1974 while browsing a little "out of the way" record shop off Broadway St. in San Antonio. I'd never heard of Buckingham Nicks, but I fell in love with Stevie when I saw her on the cover. Their music was smooth and sensual.

Fleetwood Mac had already released Bare Trees in 1972, but I first heard their music on an FM station in 1973, which at that time FM was still mostly playing elevator muzak, except for a few "underground" stations like KEXL. They played 'Show Me a Smile' off the "Future Games" LP released that year. Great album... 'Woman of 1000 Years' is my favorite song on that collection. So, its easy to say that Fleetwood Mac was already one of my favorite bands, but by adding Lindsey and Stevie into the mix, launched this group into the Super status. Im really glad to see them back together and making more great music. I cant wait to buy their new CD.

I too, would like to see the Buckingham Nicks album remixed and burned on CD. I'll definitely buy one.

Just received the album on disc - thrilled! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 15th, 2004

Someone just gave me a copy of the album on disc. All I know is that they bought it on ebay - it is put out by a company called "Anthem" records. I am thrilled with the quality of the CD. I had previously heard "Crystal" and "Long Distance Winner", and wanted the album badly after hearing these songs. I really am impressed by the songs. My favorite is "Frozen Love" (I like the way it goes into the instrumental part then back to the main song). Supposedly the new Fleetwood Mac album (according to an interview with Lindsey in "Rolling Stone"), is reminiscent of the style of music on the "Buckingham/Nicks" album. Looking forward to that CD's release.

TOTALLY AWESOME!!!NO FLEETWOOD MAC COMES CLOSE ! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by roncalese@earthlink.net from Southern Cal., August 15th, 2004

I FOUND THIS ALBUM IN 1978- I WAS BLOWN AWAY ! IT'S SMOOTHE, CREAMY AND ABSOLUTLEY AWESOME ! I HAVE BEEN HUNTING FOR THE CD FOR YEARS, UNABLE TO FIND IT ! WHAT'S WRONG WITH YOU GUYS , THIS WOULD BE A HUGE SELLING CD!

Excellent!!! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from USA, August 15th, 2004

Frozen Love is great, but so is the rest of the album...would love to see it on CD.

The real magic of Stevie and Lindsey (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by rick (ricmart8@aol.com) from Ann Arbor, Michigan, August 15th, 2004

In 1973, Buckingham Nicks opened in Birmingham, AL for Mountain. I dreamed about Stevie for months, bought the LP when it was released and get it until I sold the entire collection in 2002. This album is the best preview of what Fleetwood Mac would become.

THIS is why Fleetwood Mac is SO good (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Scott from Massachusetts, August 15th, 2004

I stumbled on this album in 1982 while I was in the Navy. I played it so much that I wore the album AND a cassette out. I've played this album for people who claimed that Fleetwood Mac, Stevie Nicks & Lindsey Buckingham were over-rated. THIS album is responsible for more than a few converts to the Fleetwood Mac fan base. The music on this album is pure, simple, melodic and some of the best examples of why Stevie Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham were/are the backbone of Fleetwood Mac. It is by far my favorite! I wish there was more!

Got to Have it on CD (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Debra (sissytoo@blomand.net) from Tennessee USA, August 15th, 2004

I remember in 1975, going thru a clothing store in Birmingham, Ala., on break from the salon I worked, and hearing this playing in the store. I thought then I had to find out who that was, and I knew I had to have the music. It is timeless, the music is as beautiful as it was then, and I have the album, now I have to have it on CD. It brings back a lot of beautiful memories.

Music to my ears. So Good! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Mardi from Tulsa, Oklahoma, August 15th, 2004

Buckingham Nicks is the reflection of a perfect songwriting/creative partnership. Lindsey Buckingham's guitar playing and singing are outstanding, as are Stevie Nicks' vocals. The songs on this album are all superb, especially Frozen Love.

Having only the LP and no record player for several years, I only had the melodies in my head. I found a LP to CD copy on gemm. com. I took a chance and ordered it. When I put it in my CD player and heard the first chords of Crying in the Night, it was like I had been thirsting and was handed a drink of cool, sweet water. It was even better than I remembered. The CD copy is very good and worth every penny. I am now burning up the CD player with this album and I haven't gotten tired of it yet.

Album That Stands On Its Own (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Nathan from USA, August 15th, 2004

What can I say about Buckingham Nicks, due to the fact that it has, as of yet not been re-released to cd, I had mixed feeling as to wether this album was any good. When I first played the record, I only had time to listen to track 1, "Crying In The Night", the first time I heard that song, I knew the rest of the album would be great. Opon further listening, I was proved wrong. The rest of the album is not able to be described in words. This album, I think can be compared to Romours, its one of those albums, like Romours, that you can listen to back to front over and over again and not get tired of it. And I'll tell you one thing, I was not a fan of instrumentals until I heard "Stephanie". I just have one question, how long do we have to wait for a cd?

A Seminal Masterpiece (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Phoenix,AZ right next to Stevie, August 15th, 2004

I loved the LP when it came out and had to have it on CD no matter the cost. I first purchased this on vinyl when it was first released and still have the original copy. Unfortunately it has a scratch on one side and would have made a poor CD copy. I was able to find the "bootleg" copy on gemm.com. There is a "distributor" that has copies (or makes copies). The quality is quite good, only an occasional pop or two. The 2-cd set includes a number of Stevie Nicks demos and b-sides as well as the original Buckingham-Nicks album. This makes the price is not that outrageous.

This CD is going to stay in my player for some time now.

In a word--WOW!! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 15th, 2004

The album is incredible! Stevie and Lindsey are just as bit as good as Mick and Keith of The Rolling Stones and Robert and Jimmy of Led Zeppelin. Truly a magic duo. These two together had produced a folk rock album that was like anything I have ever heard. It is a shame this did not sell. Stevie's voice and songwriting craft are absolutly amazing especially on "Long Distance Winner." Lindsey's guitar work is superb. The standout is "Don't Let Me Down Again." At least we get to hear that one on Fleetwood Mac Live!

The end of a quest for vocal purity (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Adrienne (auryanna79@yahoo.com) from Knoxville, Tn, August 15th, 2004

Wonderful and full of love I think that this album is one of the greatest undiscovered albums of its time, and still today. Stevie keeps up her end as a woman who could wrap her voice around this world time and time again. Meanwhile lindsey lends his talent as one of the greastest musicians to ever come along. This album just "rocks".

Indelible (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by E. C. Srayo from New Mexico, August 15th, 2004

I first heard the album in the mid 70's while staying with a friend who inherited it from an older sibling. It was played constantly but I moved on...

Frozen Love's haunting lyrics, harmonies, and guitar rifs floated through my head ever since. Today I heard the track once more compliments of Bearshare. I wondered if my original perceptions would hold true after years of musical experiences... They did.

I've wanted a copy of this album for at least 20 years!

Absolutely superb-- now I need it on CD!!!! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anthony (rainbowdragon84@hotmail.com) from Syracuse, NY, USA, August 15th, 2004

I've roamed around online and found various clips of the songs on this album. The songs are fantastic and they really do put you in another world. It's truly unbelievable that the album was a flop! I really like this album, but darn it all, when is it going to be released on CD? It is one of the essential albums that is missing from my Stevie Nicks/ Fleetwood Mac collection. Stevie's writing is truly just as wonderful as it always is, and, oh my god, Lindsey's work on this album is truly amazing! He is definitely a great musician. We need a CD, and we need it now! Sales will go through the roof!

An elusive treasure (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Nostromo from Dallas, Texas, August 15th, 2004

I was able to purchase an LP copy at a record convention last week for $25. I listened to it today and already I'm hooked. Now I realize what a strong impact Lindsey and Stevie had on the music of Fleetwood Mac. Listening to this album puts you right back into that mystical forest where gypsies roam and crystal visions are born. The fact that the album is so difficult to find makes it even more of a treasure. My advice for obtaining a copy is to check out record conventions or visit eBay. If a redneck from Dallas, TX can find it, so can you.

This classic is every inch equal to Abbey Road! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 15th, 2004

Lyrical beauty, cool syncopated rhythms, and pure seamless perfection make me wonder how and why we haven't seen BUCKINGHAM NICKS in a CD to date! When it finally comes, it will sell go like hot cakes. I think I'll cry when I buy it. My daughter loves Fleetwood Mac... I want her to hear Buckingham Nicks. Right now all I have is nostalgia and the vinyl. No turntable.

Songs on Napstar and other share programs (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 15th, 2004

This is a fantastic album , one of the all time greats and like everyone else was dissappointed to see it is not on CD, so I was fortunate to be able to find ALL the songs on Napstar ,but yes it is time to let the rest of the world listen to it.

Breakthrough album that stands alone without the Fleet (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Edge of Southern Applachians, USA, August 15th, 2004

I purchased the album in the 70's not fully realizing the impact this album (Buckingham-Nicks) would have on my later choice in music, namely Fleetwood Mac. The quality of the music from the this album could only be compared after the two joined Fleetwood Mac. The music from this album stands alone and this hidden gem appears to be no longer in hiding. I was surprised several months ago, no CD can be purchase. It's time, it's time to bring back the gem MS. STEVIE (I believe you own the rights) and allow the door to be opened to this tremendous piece of music.

Will always remember trips with my friends listening to a copy of the Buckingham-Nicks album while driving in the mountains (Seneca Rocks) of West Virginia (student at WVU) and would like the same opportunity again to enjoy this music that made LIFE FUN. Time for the next generation to appreciate this wonder music especially since many current like the music from Fleetwood Mac.

Some of the best work they EVER did ........... (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by (jacur2@hotmail.com) from Ohio, USA, August 15th, 2004

I will be 47 this year. A friend turned me on to this album in 1973, and we proceeded to wear it out. I have never seen it since. Nowhere, nohow.

Between then and now, we have told countless people about this album, but none of them ever heard of it. It is great to hear of a possible re-release!!!!

We both agree, it is arguably some of the best work they EVER did together, long before the super-stardom of Fleetwood-Mac took it's toll on the two of them.

Today on the local FM station, I heard an interview with an author of a book about Rock memorabilia , etc........one of the most highly valued catagories is the 'risque' artwork of some of the old vinyl album covers.

I didn't get a chance to call in and check the current value of this album cover, but I DO remember the stir it caused when it first came out........an original vinyl with the original artwork MUST be a collector's item by now !!!!!!

I would dearly love to find a vinyl copy, but I will be waiting for the CD release with GREAT anticipation .........

Superb (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Las Vegas, Nevada, August 15th, 2004

Just as the definition states Grand, majestic, splendid, and rich. I had this album in the mid 70's and it was a favorite. Since then it has been lost I have searched high and low for it. It would be wounderful if it came out on CD, for myself and many other fans. Please put me on any list for Buckingham Nicks.

One of the greatest little known albums of all time (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by (jbretz@satx.rr.com) from San Antonio, Texas, August 15th, 2004

In 1974, I was member of the University Program Council at the University of Alabama. The UPC produced concerts between 1971 and 1975 by artists that included the Rolling Stones, Jethro Tull, Elton John, Stevie Wonder, Billy Joel (first tour), Jackson Browne, Bonnie Raitt, Allman Brothers, Linda Ronstadt and many others. During 1974, the album - Buckingham Nicks was one of the hottest selling on our campus and we were not aware that this album was not a commercial success elsewhere.

We hosted one of the very last concerts by Buckingham Nicks at the Morgan Hall Auditorium (the college of Music) and had the electrifying experiencing of meeting Lindsey and Stevi backstage and during rehearsal and sound checks. It was during our discussions with other band members at the time, that we discovered that this tremendous album was only commercially successful in Southern California and Alabama and that Stevi and Lindsey were barely making ends meet. Shortly after their concerts (one in Birmingham and one in Tuscaloosa) - Billboard announced that Lindsey and Stevi were joining Mick Fleetwood's longtime British blues band.

I am apparently one of the very few people who had the pleasure of attending a Buckingham Nicks concert and I must say it was one of the finest I have seen.

I would like to be placed on any Buckingham Nicks Support lists and would love to see this album put on CD by Polydor. Does anyone have information on this subject?

Musically and vocally this album is a masterpiece. (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from San Diego, Ca, August 15th, 2004

I remember in the 70's, you could buy the Buckinghan Nicks album in any record store brand new. A few years ago I tried to buy it, I spent about 2 months going to just about ever used record store in L.A. and San Diego and I finally found a copy on cassette, but it is totally worn out. I need it on cd now. If I had it I would play the hell out it. It is one of my all time favorites, next to Rumours.

The FleetwoodMac sound before FleetwoodMac. (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by (f.jones@mindspring.com) from Charlotte, N. C., August 15th, 2004

I picked up this vinyl in the mid seventies and was absolutely taken with the sound. Smooth, driving, intense and melodic. I had never heard of Buckingham or Nicks at that time, just liked the album cover and bought it; what a treasure! I transfered the album to cassette so I could listen without wearing down the groves in the vinyl and I have worn out 2 cassettes since that time. Finally I down loaded the album to CD man it is really fine. Definately one of mine and my sons (3) all time favorites. If you haven't heard it, just wait, it will take you to another place....

GREATTT!!!! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Louisville, KY, August 15th, 2004

WAITING FOR THE DISC - PLEASEEE!!!

haunting and beautiful (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Lana Lilla from Denver, Colorado, August 15th, 2004

no other words exist for this, like I said...

My all-time favorite album...bring on the CD! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Placitas, NM, August 15th, 2004

I've worn out one album and two cassettes. Please, please, bring this to CD.

OUTSTANDING (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Florida USA, August 15th, 2004

great album!!!!! been wanting the cd for years.....

so when is it going to be available for sale?

We love Fleetwood Mac today because of this LP (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by pandapaw from jacksonville florida, August 15th, 2004

If it wasn't for this album from Lindsay & Stevi (as she spelled it back then), Fleetwood Mac may best be remembered for giving Santana a hit with "Black Magic Woman".

This was a must have release for those very few in the 70's who were afforded the ability to hear music when FM radio actually played music from album releases, vise today as we are spoon fed "hit" singles and nothing else.

If any artist were to release a recording today like this, it also would fall victim to non-airplay as did BuckinghamNicks. What a shame.

God bless Mick Fleetwood for hearing this album, asking them to join a new line-up of his band, and giving the world a chance to hear two truely gifted artists.

Good music for a new group (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from United States of America, August 15th, 2004

Buckingham/Nicks show how two people can both sing a good duet and be able to rap there voices around each other. The album had great lyrics and has a good beat to them. I like how they decided to put 2 instrumentals songs on the album. People in 1973 did not know how well Stevie Nicks and Lindnsey Buckingham could perform together as a team in making a record. Now alot of people are now discovering this great album from the past.

Buckingham/Nicks songs are about there relationship at that time and what they were feeling about there lives. I am glade I can relate to there feeling to there songs. Its too bad in 1973 this album didn't get the air play it deserves and selling many of the albums.

Right Place, Wrong Time (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by TechFrog from Fort Worth, Texas, August 15th, 2004

Buckingham/Nicks is a masterpiece that was produced a little before it's time. Although some of the songs are a little rough around the edges, from a commercial point of view, this album is so close to being a 'big hit' if only it was in a slightly differnet time frame of Rock history, and the authors careers.

The classic, in classic rock. If you have not listened to this album, its your loss.....

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright © 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.