Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for Street Angel
(3.50/5.03.50/5.03.50/5.03.50/5.03.50/5.0 from 6 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

We all love Stevie, we want her to do well, but... (2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0)
Review written by Jon the Moonspinner from redlands, ca, February 17th, 2010

"Street Angel" sounds like a contract obligation which needed to be filled. Stevie's rooms afire have now turned to gauzy gazebos, designed for puttering about while musing to friends over the past. Stevie could actually use some new friends, instead of the yes-men who surround her with too much love. "Blue Denim" begins the record with a kick in its step, but the title song and "Docklands" are wearisome mid-tempo rock. "Listen to the Rain" brings things back into focus, and "Rose Garden" (a paean to Stevie's youth) has a jaunty melody peppered lightly with old-fashioned country & western. But I have no idea what "Jane" is trying to accomplish, nor "Kick It" or the Dylan cover "Just Like a Woman". The Stevie Nicks of 1977 would never have allowed such a forgettable effort to hit the market. "Street Angel" overdoses on its pink pastels and feathered wings.

So many should-a-been hits!! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Randy Heaps from Rancho Cucamonga, CA, August 27th, 2008

This album...is so amazing. MAYBE LOVE WILL CHANGE YOUR MIND should have had more support from the record label. That song should have been everywhere. ...and DESTINY? Absolutely one of her best....e v e r.

My 2nd fav Stevie cd (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by jeff williams from Monroeville, Indiana, July 13th, 2008

I love Street angel. No commerical crap here. Thats a good thing. Listen to the rain Rocks! Kick it. Survivor song! Outstanding Stevie. This cd & other side of the mirror are always in my cd player 2 awesome cds. Love u Stevie, always have, always will,

LOOKING BACK ON STREET ANGEL... (2/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.02/5.0)
Review written by NICK, August 15th, 2004

APART FROM THE BEAUTIFUL HAUNTING TITLE TRACK(MY FAVOURITE STEVIE SONG EVER) THERE IS NOT MUCH ON OFFER HERE ALL THE INGREDIENTS WERE THERE BUT SOMEHOW IT DIDNT QUITE GEL TOGETHER I TRIED SO VERY TO LIKE THIS ALBUM A SHAME SINCE MIRROR WAS SO GOOD.

Amazing angelic adult rock is included here (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by John Fitzgerald from Human resources staff database assistant, August 15th, 2004

I really admire Stevie for sticking to her musical guns for this album because it works very well the way it is where it might have suffered had it enclosed modern production gimmicks. The rocking opener "Blue denim" builds to a dramatic irresistible climax while "Gretta" makes a good counterpart musically to the "Stand back" B side track "Garbo". Then comes the haunting title track, along comes the likable poppy "Docklands" followed by an underrated rocker in "Listen to the rain" which showcases a little of Brett Michaels rubbing off on Nicks but it reminds me more of The Cult and Andy Fairweather-Low provides some unusual sounding lead bursts. "Destiny" is an emotional piece that can be felt by all that hear it and my favorite is the beautiful "Unconditional love". There's a good rocker in "Love is like a river" another underrated tune in the single "Maybe love" and the ultra pretty "Jane". Collectors may opt for the Japan import for the inclusion of "God's garden" & "Inspiration" although they tend to run out of steam a little halfway through, even still, there's alot of worthwhile material here.

Stevie puts out a decent album (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 15th, 2004

Not bad to say the least. The album has recieved a lot of bad flack, but all and all it is just as good as "The Other Side Of The Mirror." Here Stevie gets back to her rock roots with limited synths--smart choice, Stevie. "Blue Denim" is a great opener. There are many high lights in this album including a song by Bob Dylan. This album shows that Stevie can still rock.

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.