Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for Law and Order
(2.75/5.02.75/5.02.75/5.02.75/5.02.75/5.0 from 4 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

Very entertaining piece of pop craziness... (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Jon the Moonspinner from redlands, ca, February 18th, 2010

Lindsey Buckingham's first solo album seems a bit stuck in "Tusk"-ville. His musical quirks and fetishes quickly become apparent here: multi-layered vocals, funny sounds, crazy rhythms, anchored intermittently by smooth, sunny harmonies. Not far from his work on "Tusk" with Fleetwood Mac, this is a very good, very erratic album--if you're in the mood for it. Lindsey now seems to have moved from the Beach Boys/"Pet Sounds"-influenced nuances of the past into a kind of lonesome-cowboy-on-the-prairie style. The New Wave edginess of "Tusk" hasn't gone away, but he's more cautious here. Working on his own (with cameos from Mick Fleetwood and Christine McVie), Lindsey knows his audience, knows what they'll accept, but also wants to broaden his musical scope. In some cases, this approach goes too far (such as with the second half of "Johnny Stew", which is a little bit embarrassing). "Bwana", the opener, gets things off to a kooky, sketchy start--one wonders 'where in the world is he going with this?'--but the record improves from there and has many highlights. BEST: Trouble (a perfect first single), Love From Here-Love From There, That's How They Do It In L.A., It Was I, A Satisfied Mind, Shadow of the West, I'll Tell You Now.

Fun but not to be compared to other solo stuff (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 15th, 2004

I can't help it but this album makes me laugh. It is not one of his best and, I think, is nowhere close to the genius of Go Insane or Out of the Cradle, but it is fun.

It does show the strange and more eccentric side of Lindsey and does have some good songs on it. Bwana, and Mary Lee Jones, for example, do have the same free feeling as Holiday Road.

You can easily see how he was feeling after Fleetwood Mac with the almost heartbreaking It Was I and Trouble.

This album does have some gems, but for the most part it is just plain funny. Lindsey had a lot better stuff out there, but this one might just find a soft spot in your heart.

Lindsey's Atrocity (1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 15th, 2004

This is one of the most atrocious recordings I have ever had the misfortune to hear. Lindsey made some great contributions to Fleetwood Mac, but the songs on this CD are horrible! (With the exception of "Trouble" which is adequate.) Anyone who pays to purchase this recording (as I foolishly did) has my sincere sympathy.

A Light and Fun Album Sure to Make You Smile (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Victoria (nowsoundsmusic97@yahoo.com), August 15th, 2004

After the frustrating and heartbreaking troubles that he had to endure while making both Rumours and Tusk, I think Lindsey was looking to have a bit of fun, and it shows. Don't expect any serious music making here. Full of upbeat and poppy originals as well as some well chosen cover tunes, Law and Order is a welcome break from the sadness and anger that is so often found in Buckingham's work. That sorrow is not totally absent from this album, however. It creeps in during "Shadow of the West", with lines like "I'm alone, a lonely man" and "Once upon a time I was strong and proud." The listener is reminded that all is still not well for one of the most underrated geniuses of popular music. This reminder is short lived however, as the next track on the album is the silliest of all. In short, this is an album that, for the most part, is just plain fun.

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.