Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for Mirage
(4.06/5.04.06/5.04.06/5.04.06/5.04.06/5.0 from 18 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

good job (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from germany, August 19th, 2010

i don't know why everybody rates tango so high and give a damn for mirage. i love this album. fleetwood mac sound like a real band.
stevie's contributions are very good, especially gypsy and straight back. christine starts collaborating when writing her songs but i have to say i prefer the material she wrote for herself. lindsey has so fine songs on this album especially eyes of the world which is my very favourite song on the album. especially as they separated for the first time in their career after tusk mirage has an aura of unity i like.

Despite the presence of "Gypsy", not a great album for Nicks-lovers... (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Jon the Moonspinner from redlands, ca, February 18th, 2010

Lindsey Buckingham and Christine McVie each shine on "Mirage", with Christine getting the edge. Her lovely and catchy "Hold Me" (a terrific first single), wistful "Wish You Were Here", poppy "Love in Store", and romantic "Only Over You" are the highlights of "Mirage". Buckingham nearly equals her with "Can't Go Back", "Book of Love", "Eyes of the World", and "Empire State"--all wonderful entries. His "Oh Diane" is a little embarrassing (as is the "Gypsy" B-side "Cool Water", apparently meant as a jokey throwaway). So what happened to Nicks? Coming off "The Wild Heart", she didn't have much to offer, although her majestic "Gypsy" provides a sensational centerpiece for the album (the video can be hopefully be ignored). When Nicks calls up the gypsy spirits within, we are putty in her palms! On this track, she's both enchantress and heroine, and the rest of the band just lets her free to do her thing (a wise move). The country girlishness of Nicks' "That's Alright" is pleasant but forgettable, while her meandering "Straight Back" doesn't do anything for her, or the listener. A scant three songs and Nicks is out the door! Thankfully, McVie and Buckingham are on their game, with Mick and John providing the musical muscle. It's a quick, blithe pop-rock outing, far from the adventuresome "Tusk" but enjoyable in it's own right.

Comparable to Rumours (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Ferdinand Ortilla from Philippines, February 6th, 2007

This album is one of the greatest albums for me. Twenty Four Years have passed and I still remember the lyrics to Wish You Were Here, so what do you call that? All the hooks are inspiring, a great musical performance of a great band, I just wish there is a live album that plays everything on Mirage. I have the original LP, I have a cassette and now I have the CD.

Mirage is truly an album which makes me reminice my teenage days.

It's Alright (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Donnie Swinton from South Carolina, February 8th, 2006

Ok. I disagree with the a couple of these reviews. Mirage is a nice album, but it isn't up to Rumours' level. The best songs off this album are "Book Of Love", "Gypsy", "Hold Me", "Oh Diane", and "That's Alright." Other than "Gyspy", "Hold Me" and "That's Alright" - a song going back to Stevie and Lindsey's country roots - nothing really grabs your attention in this album. It doesn't suck, but it's definitely not it's best. Their respective material from Tusk was much better.

Very well done (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, November 14th, 2004

I have the album Tusk, and I was curious to what it's follow-up would sound like, so I bought the album Mirage. This is a very good album, and the songs are almost back to Rumours form. Lindsey's vocals on this album are very strong, whereas on Tusk, his voice wasn't as raw sounding as on this album. His songs are a little bit of an improvement over Tusk's, most of all, "Book Of Love." Lindsey's vocals are very raw and strong on this song, and no weird vocal arrangements. All of his songs on this album are very well done and well performed.

Christine McVie's songs are a HUGE improvement over Tusk's, most notably "Love In Store," and "Hold Me," probably the best song on the album next to Gypsy and "Book Of Love." "Hold Me" is a wonderful song with and catchy beat and lyrics. "Love In Store" follows the same format: very uppity and catchy. "Wish You Were Here" is a very nice tender ballad. Stevie's songs are decent, "Straight Back" is nice, and "Gypsy" is wonderful. "That's Allright" is a little lackluster though. It sounds like a country song. Lindsey Buckingham is again the driving force on this album, penning the most songs. This album does show his growth as an artist though. Very good effort from Fleetwood Mac.

My favorite Fleetwood Mac songs, but some bummers, too (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Austin, TX USA, August 19th, 2004

I guess some of this has to do with how old i was when it came out (14), but some of the songs on this album (in my opinion) outrank even the best on Rumours. "Gypsy" is my favorite Fleetwood Mac song. Yes, period. "Hold me" is smooth as silk, as is "Love in Store". The harmonies and arrangement on this record are amazing. On the other hand, the material is inconsistent. It's obvious they didn't have enough of it for a whole album. But you have to buy this album. Not buying it because it's not uniformly good would be like not buying "Songs in the Key of Life" (Stevie Wonder), and everyone who doesn't own that album is committing a mortal sin. Or pick and choose the good ones off iTunes -- this album is made for that.

excellent mood music (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 9th, 2004

I Love this album, its so Fleetwood Mac! This is my favorite of all of them. It rocks!

A Mirage of Rumours of success! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 9th, 2004

This album is often compared to its predecesors, "Rumours" and "Tusk". Considering the overwhelming success of "Rumours" and often referred to "comparative failure to Rumours" suppossed failure of "Tusk", it is no wonder that "Mirage" is referred to as the weakest album.

"Tusk" was a complete transition from "Rumours" format while "Mirage" is referred to as the reversion to the "Rumours" format. This is somewhat true because "Mirage" continued the "Fleetwood Mac" traditional country pop rock that was so evident on their previous albums such as "Fleetwood Mac" often referred to as the "White album" and ofcourse "Rumours". Tracks such as "Love in store" and "That's alright" are pure examples of this. There were no country-pop tunes on "Tusk", not as obvious as those tracks. This was refreshing to see the band to do what they do best. Another obvious similarity is the collaboration between Mcvie and Buckingham for "Hold me". Certainly not a shuffle like "Don't stop" or a blues number like "World turning", nevertheless this pop rock song would continue the tradition of success for the band by being the debut single from the album and spending a staggerring seven weeks at the number four position on the US billboard singles chart.

Like "Rumours", "Mirage" also has the personal trauma and painful emotion to convey which is evident in tracks such as "Gypsy" and "Only over you". Both these tracks are inspired by the loss of loved ones. These tracks are actually my two favourite tracks on the album. "Gypsy" the second single from the album would peak at number 12 on the US billboard chart and a respectable 46 in the UK singles chart. "Gypsy" though a very sad song is one of the most contagious songs on the album. This is mailnly because of Stevie's best ever vocal performance. "Gypsy" was written for Stevie's best friend Robyn. "Only over you" was written for Dennis Wilson the drummer of beach boys who was Christine's lover. The lyrics to this song revealed Chrisitne's optimistism and conviction to her relationship with Dennis Wilson which make this song very sad as ironically Dennis was deceased during the release of this album. "Only over you" is one of my favourite Christine Mcvie tracks.

"Love in store" the third single in the US would peak at number 22. This is a great track because it features great harmonies from Nicks and Buckingham and the band's rhythm section also sounds fantastic on this track.

Critics may have been displeased with Buckingham's contributions to this album but regardless he scored a hit in "Oh Diane" in the UK, peaking at number 9. "Eyes of the world" is a great rocker and I love the ending of this song. It is definitely one of the best Buckingham tracks on the album and is also featured as a b-side to the "Hold me" single.

While "Mirage" attempted to emulate the phenomenal success of "Rumours" by emulating the format of "Rumours" it is evident that the former was not achieved. It is unfair to compare the success of "Mirage" (or any other album for that matter) to "Rumours" because "Mirage" is a master piece regardless. This is true because "Mirage" would return the Mac to the number one position in the US billboard album chart. Mirage may have been successful but not as phenomenally successful as "Rumours" but yet again no Fleetwood Mac album has been.

"Mirage" is one of my favourite Fleetwood Mac albums of all time. All songwriters contribute great compositions and it is a celebration of the spirit and success of the band in the late 1970's.

Furthermore I would like to emphasise that "Straight back" by Stevie Nicks is a great song which features Stevie at her vocal best and any one checking out the reviews on this website should disregard any negative comments about this album track. In fact, Stevie sounds so good on all the tracks she has composed for this album.

Mirage 82 Concert Tour better (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by (ghsmrm@yahoo.com), August 9th, 2004

FleetWood had a one hour Mirage concert tour on a 12" laser disk which I think blows away anything they before. Some of the songs on the concert disk where not the same as the songs on the album, althought the front covers are the same. I can not find a copy on cd or dvd of this concert, thank goodness through computers and dvd recording I was able to preserve a nice copy before my laser player died and the 12" disk was destroyed, thanks to kids and pets. If anyone else knows about this concert recording and if there is literature available, let me know. Thanx

New Style (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 9th, 2004

Fleetwood Mac proved that they can preform any type of music with the release of Mirage. The Album has more of a barber-shop, and country-folk style to it, not like the rock tradition of Tusk or Rumors. Especially with "Oh Diane", and "Can't Go Back". Basically it is a half-half album.

Subtle and effecting but also bland and lackluster (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 9th, 2004

It is surprising that such risk taking band (Tusk, Bare Trees) chose to follow up the controversial but brilliant album, Tusk, with such a safe venture. Not that the music is poor or uninteresting, it just doesn't add up to enough. High points first. The album seems genuine and sincere and it has a unique and subtle way about it. Low points next. However, there are many bland moments on it and shockingly enough they don't come from McVie--they come from Buckingham. His songs are a blend of laid back soft rock and early 60s pop. Why didn't he wail on his guitar more, like on "I'm So Afraid" or "The Chain"? Why didn't he yell a bit more like on "The Ledge" or "Tusk"? He does, however, do some subtle guitar work on Nicks' "That's Alright" and McVie's "Love In Store." McVie is far too mainstream on this album. "Hold Me" is pure top forty candy that is just to sugary to swallow. "Love In Store" is one of her best songs ever. But the credit on this song really goes to Nicks and Buckingham's outstanding harmonizing. Nicks manages to come off clean here. She goes two for three. The top twenty hit "Gypsy" is an ethereal tail of death, and big rock n roll dreams. "That's Alright" is a beautiful country homage that features some of her most delicate and moving vocals. But, because nobody can bat a thousand on this album, "Straight Back" is easily the worst track on the album. It is vague and uninteresting. However, the real treat on this album is to hear Fleetwood and McVie's striking drum work and bass lines. They really give this medicore album is well needed lift.

Its just great (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Nathan from Maryland, August 9th, 2004

The one thing I have to say is that this album proves my theory that the quality of the lyrics is more important the flash of the music.

the album just misses... (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 9th, 2004

How do you follow up "Rumours" and "Tusk?" Well the whole album seems rushed and forced. It finds all five artists drained of their creative powers. Lindsey reverts back to light early 60's rock n roll. A nice idea, but he is capable of much more than that. he comes off as mediocre. Christine saves the show with "Hold Me." However she is way too poppy on this album. She brings this edgy band dangerously close to corporate rock. Stevie is very bland on this album. "Gypsy" is a great song that is still a classic today, but "That's Alright" and "Straight Back" sink like stones. A good album, just not up to par.

Not Quite Rumours (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by (crazy_4it@hotmail.com) from Yorkshire, England, August 9th, 2004

After reading the reviews regarding this album, there is no arguement that this does not in anyway match up to the level of Rumours. Though the tracks on Rumours have a timeless quality to them, Mirage offers something equally wonderful. Tracks like 'That's Alright' and 'Gypsy' are songs that could very easily slide onto the track list of Rumours, whereas 'Wish you were here', a song folloing in the footsteps of 'Songbird', is in my opinion the best song that Fleetwood Mac have recorded.

Both of these album hold a very special place in my record collection and I would hate to be without them. I would very happily recommend this album to anyone without fear of critisism.

THE ONE NO ONE REMEMBERS... (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Nick from Fareham, Hampshire, England, August 9th, 2004

WHILE RUMOURS & TANGO ARE MUCH BETTER ALBUMS, THERE IS SOME TREASURE TO BE FOUND HERE. GYPSY, CANT GO BACK & WISH YOU WERE HERE ARE CLASSIC MAC AT THIER BEST. BUT THE ALBUM LACKSTHE SHINE OF THE BEST MAC ALBUMS. GOOD BUT NOT GREAT...

Lindsey really shines... (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Ian Jones from Atlanta, GA, August 9th, 2004

A lot of people consider the Mirage album to be the weakest of the Buckingham/Nicks line-up. While that may be true...there are some gems to be found on the album.

I think Lindsey Buckingham was a little at odds with Fleetwood Mac at this point in time, and what comes across is boring pop. But if you listen to the lyrics and the passion of Lindsey's playing, you'll think differently.

"Book of Love" was a highly underrated track, with great vocals and a nice guitar solo at the end. Of course, the perfect pop hit "Gypsy" is on this record too. Stevie's voice was in fine form, and I think Lindsey's compostion of the song was perfect. Another big top ten hit was Christine's "Hold Me" which is another GREAT song. The guitar work at the end and the vocals are amazing. Other great tracks include Love in Store, Straight Back, That's Alright (has a great chorus), and Eyes of the World.

As good as the rest (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Hampshire, UK, August 9th, 2004

No matter what FM did post-Rumours, people predicted their disappointment.If this album were by anyone else, it would be considered a high point in their career and hailed as a masterpiece, which it is. 'Loving In Store' opens the album in punchy style, whilst Stevie's 'That's Alright' sounds a complex shambles at first, but will soon get stuck in your brain for months. Other great tracks are 'Hold Me' (natural prozac), and 'Isn't this an old song from the 50's?' 'Oh Diane'. There are no weak spots, just songs that take time appreciate. An ignored and forgotten album that doesn't deserve to be.

Awesome album right in the rumours league (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by naveed iqbal from bangalore, India, August 9th, 2004

If people had the feeling that fleetwood mac by producing rumours had reached their creative peak then mirage has shown the true class of the legendary quintet.The star performers of this album are lindsey buckingham and mick fleetwoods awesome drumming.tracks to watch out are gypsy,hold me,oh diane...well to make it easier ..all the songs

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.