Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for Out Of The Cradle
(4.67/5.04.67/5.04.67/5.04.67/5.04.67/5.0 from 9 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

Not only Buckingham's best, but arguably the best solo album by a Mac member (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Jon the Moonspinner from redlands, ca, February 18th, 2010

Despite one or two missteps, a lovely album from Mr. Buckingham. I wasn't overly fond of the direction Stevie Nicks' solo career took, and Christine McVie seemed to deliberately lay low after her 1983 self-titled Lp came out. But Lindsey Buckingham appeared to cherish making his solo records, even though he often took years to deliver them. "Out of the Cradle" was well worth the wait, even though his core audience pretty much ignored the release (which was their loss, after all). With its beloved musical remnants retrieved from childhood, reminiscence is the key to "Cradle". Lindsey works his songs easily, sweetly, qualities which become positively addictive. After it's over, you want to hear the album again right away, less the magical glow wear off! He can still deliver a good left hook (this time to Mick Fleetwood on "Wrong") , but for the most he's in a wonderful spot, and it shines through his music like never before. BEST: Don't Look Down, Wrong, Countdown, Soul Drifter, You Do or You Don't, Turn It On, Say We'll Meet Again.

This is genius at it's best (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Rutles, August 16th, 2004

This is where it all began for me. I was 15 when this album came out and I will never forget walking into my brothers flat and hearing this for the first time. He had just bought it. I listened in wonder for about ten minutes, walked out the door and bought it straight away. I have never looked back or regretted it.

I am still hooked on Lindsey, and was more excited then I ever recall at seeing him this year. This man is a genius who brinks, sometimes, on the eccentric. He is a unique and gifted performer who's album still thrills me to this day. I love Doing What I Can with the Big Love background music.

Surrender The Rain, Wrong, Countdown, the list is endless. This album goes from one perfect song to another. At one point I had the video for Wrong and am sorrowed that I can't replace it. I have always thought that the world should know this man's name, that it should be as common as BB King, or Eric Clapton, and all the other guitar greats, but he isn't.

If you want something brilliant, original, refreshing and outstanding buy this album. Then go and hunt down a copy of Go Insane, and if you can, find a copy of Buckingham Nicks. I promise that you will never regret it.

This man is a genius (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Lindsey Carslake, August 16th, 2004

fantastic, purchased july 2003, Im hooked well & truly, soul drifter & surrender the rain just brilliant. Please play in london sometime...

Diverse, well thought out album (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Nathan (nathanthesteviefan@fleetwoodmac.net), August 16th, 2004

This album is put together in such a way that you can tell it was composed over the course of several years. Some of the songs sound like out-takes from Tango In The Night, or rather the other way around. Examples of this can be found in "Soul Drifter", "Surrender The Rain", and especially on "Doing What I Can" which sounds like "Big Love" just sped up. The bulk of the tracks sound like they were written after the Tango In The Night era and more like early 90's pop, and surprisingly it all hangs together nicely. Interestingly the lyrics "Somebody's got to see this through, All the world is laughing at you, Somebody's got to sacrifice, If this whole thing's gonna turn out right" from "You Do Or You Don't" were later used on The Dance in "Bleed To Love Her", listen you'll see!! Over all this is a surprisingly good album considering that almost anything that current, or former members of Fleetwood Mac produced from 1987 to 1997 (i.e. Street Angel, Time, Behind The Mask) seemed to be a dissapointment. The only thing dissapointing about this album is that more people didn't hear it.

WOW! One of the best un-noticed albums of the 90's (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 16th, 2004

It needs to be said. Buckingham is a musician whose work has been under rated for almost three decades now. He is one of the most gifted guitarists--and yes he ranks among Jimmy Page and Keith Richards. He has a musical knack for arranging song compostions--something even the greates rock stars don't do. He is truly a master at music. On this album, Buckingham comes into his own producing some wonderful rock songs. The fact that this album didn't even break the top 100 is a sin. If you like rock n roll pick up this album from a true guitar God!

BucKINGham... what a wizard! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Matthew Sullivan from Eureka, California, August 16th, 2004

What more can I say about Out Of The Cradle? It is a work of pure brilliancy. Lindsey pulls the listener into his world and takes them on a journey through each and every song. Soul Drifter is a powerful song. When he sings "It's out of my hands" you can really feel what he feels. Street Of Dreams and Countdown are awesome too. In fact, there isn't ANY song that is weak. Do yourself a favor and buy Out Of The Cradle. It's pure magic!

The guitar genius does it again (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Ian Jones from Atlanta, GA, August 16th, 2004

Lindsey Buckingham, in my opinion, is one of the most underrated guitarists of all time. This fresh, light album reflects his ability to play just about anything. Filled with Tusk-like beats and Fleetwood Mac inspired sounds, this record is sure to please any Mac-head. Some of the best songs include Wrong, Countdown, Soul Drifter, Street of Dreams & You Do or You Don't. It really is a great record and you can hear how much Lindsey's guitar playing evolved from 1987-1992.

A melody strickin lightweight rock album a great solo (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by James from Ireland, August 16th, 2004

This third solo effort of Buckinghams tells us somewhat of how he has changed since he left the Mac, although he tells us too much of his pain in this album, it really excerts some fabulous studio work and great overdubs and above all the versatility of the guitar work ranging from coundown which has a distinctive sound and then to the instrumentals i.e this is the time,and dont look down, he is really trying to tell us something altough im not sure what it is, even though he speaks in the album which is a little overkill. I say thumbs up to Out of the cradle and the amount it sold does not do him justice thats who he is.

Should've been a huge hit--who is his promoter anyway? (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Bryce Lambley (madelson@mdlab.com) from Nebraska, July 6th, 2004

I have this CD, yet have somehow found your way to this site...what is your problem? Seriously, this is a great work. A couple above average tunes, a bunch of very good ones, and four that just soar to new heights for me (Countdown, Turn It On, Don't Look Down and Soul Drifter). Countdown and Don't Look Down are more polished than some of my Lindsey favorites from Tusk, but still retain some of eccentric and quirky qualities that I admire. The lead-in to Countdown is out of this world, and the ooh-ooh-ooh's on DLD don't get old at all. While the one reveiwer said (paraphrasing now) that this had too much pain in it, I tend to find uplifing moments in the piece. Countdown and Don't Look Down surely are just that, and I feel Turn It On is very motivational (and if it's autobiographical, so be it). Soul Drifter is simply sweet, and was my then-wife's favorite. I'm not a musician, per se, so can't tell you precisely why I perceive this to be a masterpiece, but when one many plays all the instruments and it still sounds like this, you'd better get your copy and see for yourself.

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.