Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for Christine McVie
(4.40/5.04.40/5.04.40/5.04.40/5.04.40/5.0 from 5 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

Tasteful, stately, occasionally poppy album with one surefit hit single... (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Jon the Moonspinner from redlands, ca, February 22nd, 2010

Christine McVie deserved to have a hit song to call her own, and achieved that with "Got a Hold On Me", which sounded reassuring and lovely on AM radio in the mid-1980s. The self-titled album which followed didn't include anything else quite so surefire, though the writing is almost always smooth and the playing is faultless. You won't find a burning intensity churning under these tracks, they're pleasant confections and that's all they need to be. The effort was described by McVie herself as "quite perky, really", so anyone hoping for the smoldering equivalent to "Brown Eyes"...abandon those ideas.

An unnoticed gem from a legendary songwriter... (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Ali Filipowicz (dr.flip@erols.com) from Montgomery Township, PA, August 21st, 2004

Have you ever realized that it was Christine McVie who has written the bulk of Fleetwood Mac's hits? Bet you didn't. Her 1984 release should have equaled her success with the Mac. It is a solid collection of songs that are great for any mood. The album features her superb, but not over the top, keyboarding and fine performances from her band and guesting musicians. "Got A Hold On Me" was a modest hit for her but so many other songs were also deserving. Hopefully the renewed interest in the music and members of Fleetwood Mac will eventually make this album the success it should've been so long ago.

CHRISTINE ON TOP FORM. (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Nick from FAREHAM ENGLAND, August 1st, 2004

A FINE ALBUM FROM ONE OF ENGLAND'S MOST TALENTED ARTISTS. CHRISTINE McVIE HAS CRAFTED A BEAUTIFUL ALBUM WITH SONG THAT RIVAL THE BEST OF HER MAC WORK MY PERSONAL FAVOURATES ARE THE CHALLENGE, THE SMILE I LIVE FOR & WHO'S DREAMING THIS DREAM...AN UNDERATED GEM.

One in a Million! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by J.T. Ridenour (kansasjt@sbcglobal.net) from Kansas, USA, August 1st, 2004

This is by far one of my most favorite albums ever. This is the album that opened me up to Christine as the more stable, and steady writer of Fleetwood Mac. Her writing on this album is impecable. Although, in my opinion she kind of colored inside the lines here on this very safe, but still expansive and definitive album.

The sound of it is subdued as you'd expect from Christine, but its got a very ethereal style that only this Earthy Alto can deliver. A couple songs really stand out, especially her one-of-two hits, "Got a Hold on Me". "Love Will Show Us How" features a rockin' Guitar, but doesnt leave out that melodic piano. The songs on this album are much more lighthearted, and a good change of pace from her haunting, and sorrowful songs on 'Tusk' back in Fleetwood Mac.

Some of the highlights are most definately "Ask Anybody" featuring Steve Winwood. Nice beautiful ballad as you'd expect from the Songbird. Although heavy on the Synthesizer... The lyrics are delivered like smoke rising from a candle in that ethereal style. And the percussion on it grooves you. Her voice trails, and looms in your head.

"Got a Hold On Me" Of course. Nice poppy tune. Kind of conformist though. But has a beautifully warm and summery feeling. Her piano playing is again, nice and shimmering, but not over the top.

"I'm The One" I LOVE THIS SONG! Its absolutely rockin'. Groovy too. "2 A.M. and its you on the telephone, cryin in your sleep. And you figure since I've got a shoulder and I live alone, you can come to me..." Christine delivers it once again, with equally as thought provoking lyrics, and she paints a picture once again with her muse of songs. A very pretty picture. "I'm the one, I'm the one yea, Baby I'm the one... I'm the one you miss." Christine now being out of Fleetwood Mac... You have no idea how missed she is. This is nice to get Ultra Christine though.

"Keeping Secrets" Awesome. Period. The lyrics are stunning. It kind of adheres to many of the sounds of the 80's, but its still lovely. Synthesizers are a bit overdone, but the vocals are tantalizing. She trails off on "Keeping Secretsssss" that she only does once, but I cant decide if I wish she had done it all the way through, or if its what makes the song special. During the verses, a very low "whaaaa.." pulses and pushes the song in a very mysic fashion. And the end guitar solo is something unreal. Definate Christine style.

"The Smile I Live For" Songbird in an 80's style. Christine piano work that is definately pulsing and complex to listen to, but far from over the top. Its all-round a great love song.

Christine taught me how to sing, and how to write. This album helped me hone my piano skills, and the we both have similar voices... I've learned so much from Christine, that I dont even know where to begin thanking her for this work. Its definately a piece of 80's art.

The downsides are that this album sounds very very dated. If you love 80's this is THE album for you. She colored inside the lines a lot, and the album lacks that kind of Mac experimentation that Lindsey brought around. And all the twinkly 80's sounds can get repetative after listening to it 15 times in a row. (Trust me, I did it...) But dont discredit for the styles of the moment. I wonder what it would sound like today if someone used her vocals and used some more classic instruments, like just Guitar, Piano, Drums, Bass etc... and maybe some Strings... They're all very well done

It still has that Christine feeling, and is good to listen to on a lazy Monday afternoon. I've found this album a definate highlight of her work, and the ever-critical Christine doesnt give herself the credit of this masterful album. This album only makes me even MORE anxious for her NEXT solo album "Meantime" To be released JULY 27th!!! (yes its true.. =D Our Songstress is back in action.)

Christine, you will always be our One in a Million... We love you.

My Idol! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by (cremecaramel1@lycos.co.uk) from http:www.members.lycos.co.uk/cremecaramel1/, August 1st, 2004

As a singer myself I have loved to cover Fleetwoods songs,for me the two most talented are Christine and Peter Green..they were blues I guess things change but for me they are the greatest...I have covered Id rather go blind and Thats saying a lot and Need your love so bad...and others blues are what these two signify to me...

I write too which helps to appreciate writers and artists alike...everyone have something to give and they are the genuine articles...there will never be others the same....seen Pete a few months ago in concert...love to see Christine too....that would be great!!

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.