Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/penguin/mysql_connect.php on line 14
All Reviews for Rumours (DVD Audio)
Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for Rumours (DVD Audio)
(4.86/5.04.86/5.04.86/5.04.86/5.04.86/5.0 from 7 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

The Best Memories from High School (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Chicago, IL, August 27th, 2009

This song brings back the best memories from high school. I loved this song and dubbed a girl that I was attacted to "Precious Love."
Unfortunately for me I found out that we were second cousins! For your love, your precious love....I'd do anything IF I could....

Great album, but mix needs work (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Audiophile Addict from Denver, CO, March 20th, 2005

My review is based on the DVD-A high res mixes only, not the DVD-V mix also on this release. I was excited to see this album released to include "Silver Springs", a classic that needed a home long before now. It's also interesting to note that the sequence of songs is different from the original vinyl as well, a surprise if you're used to the old album.

Everything is superbly crystal clear. Lindsey's guitar work just sparkles in this format. What is lacking, is the attention to the lead vocals. I'm not sure what the mix engineers were attempting to do with some of the leads. At times, they are clear, then in the next song and the leads are practically drowned out by instruments or backing vocals. While the use of the surround is well intentioned, a little more attention to the music and less on the technology would have been appreciated so you don't have to tweak the balance on every other song.

It's also interesting to note that "Never Going Back Again" features an extended section that has electric guitar licks and some snare work that weren't there on the original (I had to listen to the old vinyl to make sure I wasn't going crazy). There's no mention anywhere in the notes or the disc as to whether this is original material that was edited or added for this release. Anyhow, depending on your mood, or purist attitude of the original, it's either a cool addition or takes something away from the simplicity of the song. Just a matter of taste here.

"Songbird" seems to have been re-mastered with great care. The original vinyl and the later CD release revealed the impromptu recording of this song. While Christine's voice was always heard, it was never as clear and balanced with the instruments as I would have liked (love her sultry voice). However, justice has been done for this gorgeous ballad on the DVD-A in both the stereo and surround mixes; her voice comes through like crystal, well done.

The hi-res stereo mix makes up for the imbalanced hi-res surround mix. It is clean, clear and meets the audiophile standards that this release appeals to. I recommend it for the stereo mix, and if you're willing to adjust the balance (if you have this capability) for each track, the surround mix sounds good once adjusted per track. Oh, and again, "Silver Springs" - VERY COOL!

A CLASSIC RESTORED AT LAST! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by NICK from FAREHAM,HANTS,ENGLAND, March 20th, 2005

THIS ALBUM IS THE MAC'S FLAGSHIP & AT LAST WITH MODERN REMASTERING IT SOUNDS AS CRISP & AS FRESH AS EVER. FULL MARKS TOO FOR THE INCLUSION OF SILVER SPRINGS. BREATHTAKING & SUPERB...

It's perfect...the best album of all time (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Ian Jones from Atlanta, GA, March 20th, 2005

Everyone has heard Fleetwood Mac's classic RUMOURS album. But the only thing that made it not-so-perfect was the fact that the original version of Silver Springs had to be cut. Here in this DVD-Audio format, the album is presented in it's entirety as it was meant to be.

When I listened to this initially, I was shocked. The sound of the record comes to life. If you close your eyes, you literally feel like you're in the studio with the band. The vocals are crisp and clear, and each track has added instruments that you couldn't hear before. 'Never Going Back Again' has a really fresh sound with the added drum parts. The bass parts on 'Go Your Own Way' really come to life, and the solo at the end has been punched up a bit.

The vocals on this album are unmatched. Lindsey's vocals on '2nd Hand News' come through very nicely. Stevie's 'Silver Springs' is beautiful with Lindsey's violin-like guitar parts. Christine's 'Don't Stop' and 'You Make Loving Fun' are equally as powerful...and 'Songbird' is as perfect as ever.

I don't have one bad thing to say about this DVD. The interview menu which allows all the band members to talk about each song is interesting. Stevie's comments about Silver Springs are especially saddening. This really is a nice package. Now, one can hope that maybe they'll remaster the CD so we can listen to it in our cars!

You never heard Rumours like this before!!!!!! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Al Chapman, March 20th, 2005

This new DVD version of Rumours is a real treat. The sound is far more crisp and clear than anything you've heard before. The tracks HAVE been remixed. Some sound very different, others sound the same but so much more clear. "Don't Stop" is one that seems to have lost something. "Oh Daddy" is so much better. "Never Going Back Again" has a previously buried guitar line brought forward, thus changing the sound of the song. "Gold Dust Woman" sounds far more creepy at the end than any previous mix. Of course the real gem here is "Silver Springs". Back where it has always belonged. Also included are recollections from each member about each song. You will also hear demos of some tracks. There are photo montages from the photo sessions. The album has always been a classic, but hearing it in this new mix is like hearing it all over again for the first time. A very nice companion piece to the "Classic Albums ~ Rumours" DVD.

Fleetwood mac rumours still alive today (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Scott from Garden City, Michigan, March 20th, 2005

I bought this album on 5/29/01 the day it was released. I played it and I almost cried on the interview during playin SILVER SPRINGS without the lyrics. I like how they came up with the lyrics and why they wrote the songs that went on the album during playing the songs without singing the lyrics. Also the sound played very well on my computer DVD player. I could hear the background vocal and some of the instruments alot more than on the actual album itself. The pictures were great. I liked how they showed the sheets music used in the studio to get the chords down and picture. I got to say this is a great DVD for the people who enjoyed RUMOURS the first time around but more up scaled then before.

Rumours Revisited (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Michelle from Brooklyn, New York, March 20th, 2005

I received the Rumours DVD in the mail yesterday. I couldn't wait to play it, so last night I sat in my living room...popped it in my DVD player...turned the tv to stereo surround and relaxed. Oh my god, it is really great! If you closed your eyes, you would swear that you were actually in the studio with them!! As each song plays there is a picture of the writer and the title of the song on the screen.

After listening to the whole thing, you can go to each song and hear audio interviews of how the songs came to be. Another treat was hearing Silver Springs right after Go Your Own Way!! It was such a great DVD. I really enjoyed listening to the songs, how they really kind of sounded in the studio and also hearing what each member had to say about Rumours!!

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.