Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for Second Chapter
(4.50/5.04.50/5.04.50/5.04.50/5.04.50/5.0 from 6 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

kirwan is phenomenal (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by james prichard from houston , texas, April 15th, 2013

before i heard everything by danny , i just happily enjoyed all kinds of enjoyable music. if one reaches for danny , one may find that his world of music is phenomenally sublime, and second to none. that is what i found.

If Danny toured w/this material this would've been huge!!! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, March 16th, 2008

Danny kirwan is a real genious, this album should of been huge! The songs are so moving and catchy, and how anyone can give a bad review about this album shocks me! Just a shame he didnt promote this stuff because it would of got a massive reaction. instead unfortunatly most people think dannys amazing talent died when he left fleetwood mac. such an amazing album! Cant wait to get midnight in san duane and hello there big boy! superb

I like it too, very much! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Renee from New York, October 26th, 2007

Reading the above reviews, I have to say they are all spot on. I'm relatively new to the early Fleetwood Mac, and discovering their music was a complete and rather mindboggling relelation to me-- but it has been Danny's music in particular that has blown me away. I've immersed myself in everything he wrote and recorded with the Mac between '68 and '72, and I have to say I think his talent is prodigious and awesome. So I had a bit of trepidation when going ahead and listening to these tracks-- which, by the way, I've only actually heard in demo form on "Ram Jam City," the CD of master tracks that was put out a few years ago. Like others, I'd read some less than glowing reviews of his post-Mac efforts. But the more I listen to this, the more it's growing on me! I actually find I've got these songs stuck in my head now, and I like them more all the time. I have to agree with a reviewer who said that songs like "Lovely Days," "Second Chapter," "Cascades," and "Silver Streams" could fit in beautifully with what he was doing on the "Future Games" and "Bare Trees" albums. They are poignant, lush, evocative, and beautiful. I also really like his upbeat, sometimes quirky "Falling in Love With You," "Odds and Ends" and "Ram Jam City." They are full of energy and spirit. And he is in really fine voice throughout. Yes, I wish there more of his powerful, haunting guitar riffs...but I love this CD nevertheless, and I look forward to hearing how it turned out on the actual "Second Chapter" version.

debut solo release from under appreciated Mac guitarist (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by John Patrick from Baltimore, Maryland, USA, January 26th, 2007

With five successful albums with Fleetwood Mac under his belt (including the exemplary "Then Play On"), Danny departed in late '72 to further explore the soulful, melodic mannerisms that brightened Mac tracks such as "Jigsaw Puzzle Blues", "My Dream", "Dragonfly", "Earl Grey", and "Sunny Side of Heaven". "Second Chapter" represents his initial effort in specifically that direction.

This record is by turns, both a dissapointment as well as a revelation. While completely lacking the punch imparted by the Fleetwood/ McVie rhythmn section, the musicians, especially keyboardist Paul Raymond (Chicken Shack, Savoy Brown, UFO) ably assist Kirwan in realizing his vision. His ideas run the gamut of post-Beatles popadelia, never exceeding (nor, alas, approaching) the bounds of proper melodic decorum. Everything feels like some kind of late spring dream from a Branch Cabell novel. This record is obviously a purposeful retreat from the fast-lane dynamic and atmosphere that nearly killed him in Fleetwood Mac. Sadly, the liquid Lowell Fulsome/ Django Reinhart guitar that ignited the music in Mac is no longer there to balance with the otherwise superb songcraft. I'm sure Danny was focusing on songs at this point in his career for some personal reason. Nor is there a hint of the floating, hypnotic instrumentals that graced his Mac peroid.

All in all, "Second Chapter" is an accurate metaphor for it's creator. A fragile, lilting voice plaintively reflecting the outer garments of a highly gifted, yet, ultimately damaged soul, yet never resorting to pathos or indulging in self-pitiful mantras whilist doing so. Recommended, albeit not highly.

Well, I like it... (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Jim Duncan from Portsmouth, June 17th, 2006

I thought I'd write this as, um, all the press I've read about this album hasn't been that great.

My friend bought me this album when I gave him some money and told him to "surprise me". And boy did he.

At first I was disappointed, as a teenager who was blown away away by the blues rock of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac, it took quite a while for me to get into the album.

Now I'm glad I put the effort in. I'm trying to choose a "favourite" track but how? The title track..? Cascades? It's just a great album. And that's a rare thing today.

I think people forget how good Kirwan's playing was on those Mac albums (just remember he was the one who wrote Dragon Fly. I don't think Then Play On would have been possible without him.

I've got a feeling I'm preaching to the choir, but I'm listening to Future Games at the mo' and just had to let you know, y'know.

Thank you for your time.

Danny's delightful writing skills make this album (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by John Fitzgerald from Peabody, MA USA, August 20th, 2004

Danny's solo debut has often been criticized for it's poor production which isn't disputable but Kirwan's writing prowess shines through to show his expert tunemanship skills perfectly. Beautiful ballads like "Cascades", "Silver streams" & "Lovely days" will melt your heart while irresistible sing a longs like "Mary Jane", "Skip a dee do" & "Falling in love with you" one will hum all day long once you get to know them. Think of how these days singles are often remixed from their album versions, imagine how big "Hot summer day" and the title track would have been had they used this technique in 1975. Listen to this album once a day for two weeks and I'd be surprised if you didn't come away whistling at least one favorite.

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.