Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for Enchanted
(4.00/5.04.00/5.04.00/5.04.00/5.04.00/5.0 from 5 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

Kicking up some gold dust with those platform boots... (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Jon the Moonspinner from redlands, ca, February 16th, 2010

The inclusion of a rocking live track, "Gold and Braid" (a song Stevie never recorded for an album proper), is reason enough to buy "Enchanted", which is otherwise burdened by album tracks we all love, but we all already have. Nice to get the soundtrack selections "Free Fallin'", "Battle of the Dragon", "Blue Lamp", a redo of "Twisted" (from "Twister"), "Sleeping Angel", and "Somebody Stand By Me" all on one pleasurable disc, but the other two discs are a messy collection of this 'n that.

A FEW MAC SONGS WOULD'NT HAVE GONE A MISS!! (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by NICK from FAREHAM,HANTS,ENGLAND., August 16th, 2004

UP UNTIL WE GET THE DEFINITIVE STEVIE MAC & SOLO BOX SET WILL HAVE TO DO, BUT THERE IS FAR,FAR TOO MUCH OF BELLA DONNA & THE WILD HEART, IF SOME OF THESE HAD BEEN DEMO'S OR ALTERNATE VERSIONS IT WOULD HAVE BEEN MORE REWARDING. BUY THIS FOR CD NO.3.

This one gets a grade of "Incomplete" (3/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.03/5.0)
Review written by Zabe from Boise, Idaho U.S.A., August 16th, 2004

A friend of mine has this set, and I was checking out the track-listing to see whether I wanted a copy for myself. Looks like the hits are there. There appears to be a good number of b-sides and soundtrack songs here. Some decent album cuts (although why "Think About It" is missing is a baffling mystery) found their way onto this collection. And then there's the duets. On this package you get Tom Petty, Kenny Loggins, Don Henley, and John Stewart. But where, oh where is "I Pretend", the duet she performed with Sandy Stewart on Stewart's "Cat Dancer" album? This glaring omission is the one reason I will never purchase "Enchanted".

Heavy on solo work but it comes out clean (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 16th, 2004

Nicks proves with Enchanted that she is indeed the most influential women of rock. She has inspired and influenced many including, Courtney Love, Sheryl Crowe, Tori Amos, L7, Bikini Kill, Gwen Stefani among others. Listening to this it is not hard to see why. The first disc is awesome including all the hits from "Leather and Lace" to "Stand Back." You can see how she dominated early 80s radio and was one of the select few women who were played on the rock stations. The second cd gets into to trouble. "Edge of Seventeen" is a great in your face rockin' live version. She nails the white knuckle scream in the middle of the song as well. Aside from the folk ballad "Rose Garden" it doesn't add up to much. Bogged down by synths and spacey lyrics it doesn't compliment Nicks' range. The third CD is remarkable. She improves on Petty's "Free Fallin'" and "Long Distance Winner" is a real winner. "Rhiannon" is a haunting demo on which she ferociously plays the piano. "Gold" is one of those fogotten rock duets that is almost as perfect as the ones she sings with Tom Petty. "Battle of the Dragon" is a fantastic drug song as is the hard rockin' "Violet and BLue." Now why did she opt to put these on soundtracks instead of poor albums like Rock a Little. It would have greatly improved that album. It is definatly worth buying for the third disc.

This album shows how her past work really was excellent (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from United States, August 16th, 2004

Stevie put out a great collection of her best songs. I liked how she picked the songs that would make a good interpatation for her fans to make a story for them. I like all the pictures and lettering above the pictures. Also, how she explains why she picked the songs of the albums. I will say this album reflects her good work on her prievious albums and songs that made it to B side on the singles. I will treasure this album forever.

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.