Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for Shakin' The Cage
(4.67/5.04.67/5.04.67/5.04.67/5.04.67/5.0 from 6 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

English, Aussie & US rock legends join forces (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Bathurst, Australia, June 18th, 2010

An excellent rock album by some true greats. As an Aussie, I reckon it's great to see one of our greatest and wildest rock legends ever, Billy Thorpe, performing with other legends like Mick Fleetwood, Kenny Gradney and the Bramletts.
It was a sad day in Australia when Billy unexpectedly passed away a few years back. How much more great music could these guys have put out!
This album is certainly worth tracking down and buying if you like good solid rock, very professionally played.

This album shook my cage (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Michael Sears (sears925@comcsat.net) from Rockford, IL, November 26th, 2008

I have always like Mick Fleetwood and Fleetwood Mac.
I seen Fleetwood Mac live, one of the better shows I have seen.
So one day a couple of years ago I was looking through CDs @ a local used CD store and the cover caught my attention (that is how I stumbled onto Molly Hatchet waaay back when, by the cover art). I checked out the line up and just knew this was going to be something special. I took it up to the counter and asked if I could give it a listen, they threw it into the player and I was HOOKED! Bekka's strong and sexy voice is perfect for this music. This is one of my favorites which I am always eager to turn people onto. They all have the same reaction... WHO IS THIS!? I would also like to see them make more music and tour. It is a shame that Billy Thorpe passed last year, a victim of cardiac arrest. RIP Billy.

Great sound (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by roccastanislav@yahoo.com from Cluj Napoca, Romania, January 8th, 2007

When I listened this album on "Muzica Magica", a radio broadcast in Cluj, Romania, I was conquered by the sound. Really great. What voices, guitars drums and keyboards. . It's a C.D. hard to find on the music market. Why ?

Why is this band still not together?? (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Bob C. (dbmusic@buckeye-express.com), September 4th, 2004

This album rocks as well as the band ROCKS!!! What a line-up, what a album. Shakin' The Cage is a well written and produced album to say the least. It is now 2004 and I am still turning this album on to many of my friends. The first song I turn them onto is Night Life. The groove of the bass and the tone of the guitars along with Bekka's voice are enough to sell anyone who knows great music. Than with Mick playing with the deepest pockets, along with the smooth B3 sound of the keyboard just makes this song one that gets to your soul. My next favorite is a tie between Shakin' The Cage and Voodoo. What more can be said. The whole album is a master piece of a band that still should be out there rockin'! Mick, Billy, Bekka, Greg,Tom and Brett, if you happen to read this please get back into the studio, or do a tour. And if you do , please come to the little city of Toledo, OH. You have more fans than you know about. Again this formula works, and works well. So don't fix it if it ain't broke.

great criusing music (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from woodstock ga, September 4th, 2004

this cd is my favorite when riding with a date with the t-tops off . my date always ask who we are listening to and say they love it. The match up of musicians on this cd is pure karma at its best. the last match up i liked was the new barbarians from years ago.

Hang on, it's shakin', not stirred (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by John Fitzgerald from Peabody, MA USA, September 4th, 2004

The bombastic sound on this Zoo outing was surprising to many and ultimately, disappointing. I think I was more surprised that Mick opted for a heavy blues rock sound. A sound which was apparently considered more 'Savoy Brown territory', something he and the other Mac members didn't want to do in the Dave Walker days of the Mac so looking back now, we are to assume that this is now considered acceptable and with the addition of Billy Thorpe to the Zoo one can easily see how Mick was influence by Australian rock at the time as he was spending a great deal of time there then. Knowing now that this is what you're going to get with this record, one can now appreciate the songs for what they are and for this genre this is very good. "Reach out" & the Billy Burnette co-penned title track hits you right away, "Takin' it out to the people" &"Breakin' up" are fiery rockers. Lead guitarist Gregg Wright welds a mean axe throughout the proceedings. Bekka's lead vocals are wonderful. Her powerful chords fit this musical style perfectly and we get a musical glimpse of the Mick we all know on "Voodoo" and particularly "In your hands". The pace is slowed a bit by a couple of lighter rockers "How does it feel" & "The night and you" which can really grow on you given half the chance. Of course, "giving it a chance" applies to the whole record. Now we know that the savages from the old zoo have been let loose and new ones have arrived with a more rambunctious musical appetite, we can enjoy it now in case we didn't the first time around. And for me, it works.

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.