Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for John McVie's Gotta Band With Lola Thomas
(4.00/5.04.00/5.04.00/5.04.00/5.04.00/5.0 from 6 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

Outstanding in Every Aspect (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Gerry Nason, June 10th, 2014

I purchased this CD in 1991 when it was released. Over the course of the following 23 years, I have had more listening enjoyment from this masterpiece than 99% of my 5,000 CD collection. It really is an enjoyable collection of bluesy, classic rocky type songs.

Lola Thomas has a refreshingly captivating voice. The songs are built around melodies that make you want to sing along. The lyrics are interesting and relevant. The backing musicians employ smart choices on the Hammond B3 organ and guitar effects to set the bluesy atmosphere.

There is but one singular problem with this CD and it is a huge one! Once you become addicted to this recording, you eventually have to face the fact that there is no more coming. This is a one off gem, the likes of you won't see again. I've held out hope for a reunion for nearly a quarter century and it hasn't happened yet.

Nice...... (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Brian Durkin from Maryland, USA, December 15th, 2005

I came across this CD in a bargain rack several years ago and I kept in my cars CD player for while. I was presently surprised because Id never heard of Lola Thomas and it grew on me.

It was a cold rainy day and I was stuck in the house most of the day, so I pulled out some CDs I'd not heard in a while, including this one. I was reminded that Lola Thomas is a very good singer and her pictures look pretty hot too.

I recommend it to anyone that likes that country/rock-a-billy blend.

Simple songs great backing brilliant vocals (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Steve Woodhall from Kingswinford, England, January 30th, 2005

I came across this album in a rubbish box at a car boot sale. price 1.00. This to me is a quality recording with very good arrangement and excellent vocals. [lola thomas] If this album had been recorded by someone realy famous, it would have been a masive success. Lola thomas is, in my opinion, an outstanding vocalist.

Pleasant Surprise (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by (delkron@cox.net), August 30th, 2004

Not what I expected as purchased when it was first released, however I love this disc. Heavy Honky-Tonk/Blues with a pleasant and tasteful influence of early blues based torch songs, and it rocks. Repeated plays since its release are still a thrill. I have been intrigued with Lola Thomas' performance with the John McVie band, though have never seen a bio or other material by her. This title rates high among my personal catalog of Fleetwood Mac related individual projects. Since this did not sell well, for whatever reason, it is now a bargain of a great underappreciated disc

A Real Surprise (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by (chrisart55@aol.com), August 30th, 2004

I must admit. The first time I heard this album, I was disappointed. It sounded like pure Honky Tonk. But, I left it in my car CD changer and it cycled through a few times. And, I noticed myself singing some of the songs in my head when it wasn't playing. One song in particular, Shot Down By Love, is one of the best "torch" songs I've yet heard. Another one, All That I Was Guilty Of, certainly should have been a hit. The rest of the material, while not up to these two songs, is certainly of a high production quality. It is a shame this CD never got the promotion it deserved.

What Was He Thinking? (1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0)
Review written by Victoria, August 30th, 2004

John McVie goes solo. Sort of. He actually just formed his own band hence the title, John McVies Gotta Band. This 1992 album didnt sell well, and its easy to see why. Singer Lola Thomas vocals are unimpressive, and even the musical presence of McVie, Billy Burnette, and George Hawkins cant save this one from mediocrity. The only worthwhile songs here are Now I Know and The Bigger the Love. Both tracks are Billy Burnette originals and youd be better off just picking up some solo Burnette. John McVies Gotta Band is one of those albums that you might buy just so you can say you have it.

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.