Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for Bekka & Billy
(4.60/5.04.60/5.04.60/5.04.60/5.04.60/5.0 from 5 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

A very fresh example of good country-rock music. (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Croatia, March 5th, 2006

A very fresh example of good country-rock music.

A "Must hear for yourself" package...fresh sound! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Kurt (lafayettekw@hotmail.com), August 28th, 2004

When I heard this duo, I was instantly impressed. They write their own material, (which is always great because it shows the direction of their hearts and thoughts and allows them to "be themselves") and have a definite "uniqueness" which comes through on each song. Their harmony is wonderful. One gets the feeling of closeness that gives their songs a certain appeal which will attract fans of both sexes.

I cannot say enough good about the backup musicians...they don't miss a beat and provide a GREAT sound! The steel guitar is fantastic!

My personal favorite cut is TRUE BLUE LOVE. I must have played it a hundred times, and it STILL stirs strong feelings to surface in me with its heartfelt lyrics, beautiful harmony, and hauntingly unforgettable melody. The tempo, the steel guitar, and words make it a keeper!

Other cuts offer a sound that relocates the listener from the car or home into a live performance. This is especially true of PATIENT HEART, I WAS BORN TO BE LOVED BY YOU, and of course, OLD HICKORY LAKE.
I truly recommend giving this collection a double listen.

I think this is the best album they have ever done (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by (fleetwood_00@hotmail.com), August 28th, 2004

This album has everything you want from a duo like these guys. They have the upbeat tempo, wonderful lyrics, and a reality setting. In My opinion they are better off as a solo group then they were with Fleetwood Mac.

A Good Old-Fashoned Country Duet! (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by Michele Mategrano, August 28th, 2004

Anyone familiar with Bekka Bramlett knows what a powerful voice she has! Her voice blends quite well with Billy's as they take you for a ride in the country! One of my all time favorites on this album is "Old Hickory Lake"! It's a sing-a-long sensation and makes you want to kick up the heels on your cowboy boots and yell "yee haw!" If the song titles are any inclination, such as "God Knows I Love You", "Born To Be Loved By You" and "Made For Each Other", this album is one for lovers of all ages! The songs tell what real love should be about - what's really important. Give a listen and you'll know what I mean!

This is What Country Music Should Be (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Victoria (nowsoundsmusic97@yahoo.com) from Vacaville, CA, August 28th, 2004

Here's an interesting concept Country artists who actually write their own material. Sure, many country singers write a few of their own songs but the vast majority buy their songs from professional writers. Bekka Bramlett and Billy Burnette, however, have no need to get their songs elsewhere. Both shine here as fantastic lyricists, most notably on the tracks Better Days, Through the Walls, and Heart to Call Home. Any fans of the country cross over diva Faith Hill will already be familiar with one of this discs stand out tracks. Faith covered the song Better Days on her album Breathe. But her version is a butchery of an otherwise magnificent piece. Faiths mediocre voice does not do the song justice. Here, though, the song is delivered the way it should be. Bekkas rich earthy voice conveys the true emotions of the song. The listener is left with a tear in the eye and a touched heart. Through the Walls, a track co-written by both Burnette and Bramlett, speaks of childhood days listening to the guitar work of their fathers. It is a beautifully written song and once again Bekkas wonderful voice touches you in a way that few singers can. She is truly one of musics best female vocalists. Heart to Call Home puts Burnette on lead vocals and his delivery of this song is no less impressive than Bramletts performances. He sings about the endless search to find the one. It is a timeless subject, and one to which everybody can relate. Though I call Better Days, Through the Walls, and Heart to Call Home the stand out tracks, there really isnt a weak song on this album. Even people who dont like country music will appreciate the simple yet beautifully crafted love songs that fill this 12 track disc.

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.