Go Back - View Songs - Latest Updates - Search the Discography - The Penguin

All Visitor Reviews for French Kiss
(4.17/5.04.17/5.04.17/5.04.17/5.04.17/5.0 from 12 Reviews)

Submit your own review here!

Super Album! Great Memories (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Portland, Or, July 10th, 2007

Forget the (few) lame critics of this marvelous work by Bob Welch... Perhaps they were 'dead heads' and this wasn't rock enough for 'em? This is one of my all time favorite albums of the 70's (and is great to listen to on a m-buzz) And I do have a lot of memories of 'the day' when I listen to this one. Thanks Bob!

This Is It (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by The Mighty Feldspar from Tennessee, November 10th, 2006

I really don't have that much to add to the notion that "French Kiss" is great. It is beyond great, it is a classic. The reason I came here is this; I had some guitar "licks" floating around in my head forever. I just could not remember where or what they came from. They drifted and floated in my psyche for ages but I just could not recall their origin. When I finally remembered, I had some serious High School Deja Vu, it was "French Kiss". Talk about your psychological staying power, Danchiva.

A must for anyone who likes Bob Welch (4/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.04/5.0)
Review written by (sryan17877@aol.com), August 27th, 2004

I followed Bob welch from when he was in Fleetwood Mac and thought they had a great sound then. Not commercial but very cool. I picked up the 2nd Paris album and thought this isn't too bad but not a lot of people are going to buy it. It was a little pretentious, although I did like "1 in 10" and "Blue Robin". French Kiss was just a classic album and it still sounds good today. I just bought the CD again last week. Great songs, a lot of energy and of course one of the great love songs in rock, Sentimental Lady.

POP-ROCK SO GOOD YOU CAN'T HELP BUT LIKE IT! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Edward Easterling (baronstrait@yahoo.com), August 27th, 2004

I first heard Ebony Eyes on the radio in 1978 when I was 13.That was it!I couldn't wait to buy French Kiss and listen to it.I was in for another pleasant surprise when I heard Sentimental Lady,the first cut on side 1.I'd heard that song for years but I never knew that was Bob Welch,too.Anyway,I honestly say to this day,I am hard pressed to find a better album by anyone,anywhere.I've listened to this album 100,000 times now,and I still love it.If I ever go to a desert island and I can only take 1 album with me,French Kiss by Bob Welch is it.I'm not kidding!The cover is sexy.The title is cool.This compilation of songs is surprisingly diverse.Although the theme of "losing your heart"seems to run through it,Mr. Welch explores other territory as well."Outskirts"-Bob has pulled a heist and he's leaving town-determined not to be caught."Danchiva"-Mr. Welch takes us on a brief spiritual retreat-"pretend that you're a bubble on a wave"!Between these episodes of adventure,Bob Welch is singing songs of love to his woman."Hot Love-Cold World"reminds us that love has to survive tumultuos times.In the end,love wins-"You Made Me Lose My Heart".All-in-all,Bob Welch ,thru this album French Kiss,has earned my highest admiration and praise.It is living proof,even at this point in time,that good style never goes out of style.Thank you Bob,for 1 GREAT album!God Bless You.

Every song, has heart felt emotion. (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by DD Price, August 27th, 2004

I bought this album new in `77, partly because of the Fleetwood Mac connection. After all these years I still enjoy it, usually on a weekly basis and am learning to play "Lose your heart" to play for my wife on Valentine's Day. Where I sometimes found Fleetwood Mac a little moody and slow, the albumn is anything but that.

This was to have been called - (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Bill from USA, August 27th, 2004

Mac & Bob Welch Collectors Note, This WAS to have been Bob's former Band - PARIS' 3rd album and Welch himself has stated that the Can of tape that this Album was recorded on was originally labeled as -"PARIS 3". The first 2 PARIS albums are great with "Big Towne 2061" being EXCELLENT! This, had it been "PARIS 3" would have been the "BIG" breakthrough that group needed. As a debut Bob Welch solo album it is nothing less than fantastic!!

Stick to playing the guitar, Bob! (1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Minnesota, August 27th, 2004

I have to agree with "anonymous." I have a hard time believing I bought these two albums also. I'm sure I bought it because of the babes on the cover. The things we do as teenagers! Ebony Eyes was a great song but only because of the guitar. Welch is a hack as a lyricist. Well, I guess everybody has to make a living some way.

out standing (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 27th, 2004

First time I heard this In "77" I was in a clothing store fell in love, had to have it right then and now. Went to the music store bought it on vinyl. I have moved several times and ofcourse misplaced it. Very happy to find it now. I recommend this CD to everyone. Truly a great find. AGAIN!!!!!!

Are you kidding? (1/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.01/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous, August 27th, 2004

Man, this is one of my worst memories of that decade. And he quit fleetwood mac for this?

One of the all time best! (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Chuck from Bryn Mawr, PA, August 27th, 2004

This record is Bob Welch's masterpiece. What is so outstanding about it is that if you delve in beyond the classics "Ebony Eyes" and "Sentimental Lady" you will find other songs that are equally as good. I would encourage anyone to buy this record and listen to "Dancin' Eyes," "Carolene," "Easy to Fall," and any of the three versions of "Lose Your Heart." They all could have been singles in addition to the aforementioned two plus "Hot Love, Cold World." You won't go wrong buying this one.

One of the best albums of the late 70's (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by Anonymous from Sweden, August 27th, 2004

Excellent! All songs are just great ! The absolutely best album by Bob and better than any of Fleetwood Mac's album. One of the best albums of the late 70's

Welchy, the wonderful wizard's pop masterpiece (5/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.05/5.0)
Review written by John Fitzgerald from Peabody, MA USA, August 27th, 2004

Bob's first solo disc is very commercial sounding for it's time but he didn't have to sacrifice his writing prowess in the process which makes this platter a must have for any true Mac aficionado. The crystalline cover of "Sentimental lady" betters the "Bare Trees" version. It's more heartfelt and with Lindsey, Christine & Mick providing solid backing, this is undoubtedly the stand out track but Welch's penmanship wizardry shines through. Although Christine is only listed as being on "Sentimental lady", she can easily be heard on "Easy to fall" & "Lose your heart" the former is one of the most rocking numbers on the record which makes Christine's appearance on it all the more surprising. The latter is a nice ballad which ends the record and is the next mellowest on the album to "Sentimental lady". The minor hit, the funky "Hot love cold world" is probably the hardest rocker but it's hard to say, this is a red hot record with instantly likable songs. "Ebony eyes" keeps the hits coming, Robert has got some groovy jazz licks on "Danchiva" while "Mystery train" & "Carolene" boogie along nicely, "Lose my heart" & "Lose your..." are entertaining twists on "Lose your heart" and the moving "Dancin' eyes" is my favorite next to "Sentimental lady". If you want to learn about Bob Welch music, this is a great place to start.

Submit your own review here!


Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.